The Blogger Recognition Award

I woke up today to a nomination for The Blogger Award and if that ain’t a pleasant start to the day, I don’t know what is. My thanks to Raistlin0903 for the nomination. He runs a multi-faceted blog with content that includes anime, books, movies, games etc. I’d recommend that you check it out.

image33

The Rules

  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started
  • Give two pieces of advice for new bloggers
  • Select up to 15 other blogs you want to give the award to

 

How it all began

On a whim.

I’m a pretty impulsive person so nearly everything I do is because an idea takes hold of me and doesn’t let go. That said, I did put a lot of thought into what I wanted to do and how I wanted to do it before I signed the deal with the devil made a wordpress account. As for my inspiration, ever since I got back into anime, I’d been checking out anime blogs. For quite some time, I was content to just read other people’s posts but eventually, my fondness for writing about things I love morphed into the idea of a blog of my own. Maybe if I’d waited to do it, i wouldn’t have but I didn’t wait so here I am. I don’t regret it one bit.

Blogging has been so much more fun that I anticipated and most of that is owed to fellow bloggers who make the experience so interactive and engaging. Thanks, guys.

 

Advice that’s not really advice

I’m extremely new to this and am in no way qualified to give any kind of advice. What I do have are a couple of suggestions based on my own (limited) experience in the blogosphere.

Talk to people:

I had a blog in the past – nothing related to anime – but then, it was a lot like I was writing for myself, without a care for mingling with other bloggers. I got views and followers but it was all a silent affair and it got tedious after a while. But like I said above, this time around it’s been a blast and 90% of that is owed to other bloggers whom I talk to on a semi-regular basis via comments either on their posts or mine.

Do your own thing:

It’s easy to get caught up in hype and in the ‘right way’ to do things. Try not to be. Watch what you want and write what you honestly feel.

Okay, none of that is the most original stuff out there but hey, I tried.

 

Nominees

Prepare for the usual names and some new ones. Sorry if you’ve already been nominated and/or done this already.

The Lily Garden

100WordAnime

Prattle

Ryuji Tatsuya’s Anime Review

The Otaku Judge

Reads, Rhythms and Ruminations

JAPANimetalks

Matt Doyle Media

Fujinsei

littleanimeblog

It’s not 15 but it’s late and I’m ridiculously tired. Good night.

 

 

About D

Just another avid anime fan.
This entry was posted in Award and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to The Blogger Recognition Award

  1. raistlin0903 says:

    Haha 😂😂 Really had to laugh about a lot of things in this post: (I signed a deal with the devil) was especially humorous ! Great post indeed, and I totally agree with the advice you gave, especially the first thing. One of the truly fun things is to talk to other people, and for me that has so far been the best thing of blogging. So I couldn’t agree more. Well…I guess it is good night: have a good sleep, and keep up the great work you are doing 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anjim says:

    Congrats

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Alane says:

    Congrats! 🙂 I think those are the two best pieces of advice anyone could ask for. /also from someone who started really recently, pls take with grain of salt

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Karandi says:

    Congratulations and thanks for the nomination. I’m noticing a common theme with the advice section on these being that you need to talk to people and interact with other bloggers. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. avathenerd says:

    Congratulations on the award and thank you for thinking of me! You have a great blog.
    I loved your suggestions. Being yourself is very important indeed. Interaction is one of the best parts of blogging in my opinion.
    Thanks again!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. YahariBento says:

    Congrats for the award & thanks for your advice, @D. :3
    I’m enjoy to reply in comments too.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. remyfool says:

    Congratulations and thanks for the nomination!

    I’m glad you’ve been having a blast running your blog. And even though you feel like you were giving some generic advice, I personally think they were solid words to go by. Talking with other bloggers is definitely part of the reason of why it’s fun, after all!

    I’ll try to respond to your nomination in kind later this week. Thanks again!

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Thanks, and anytime!

      It was really the only thing that came to mind that even resembled advice. I know it’s pretty obvious but all the communication has been the highlight of this whole thing.

      Liked by 1 person

      • remyfool says:

        You’re welcome!
        Nooo it’s not entirely obvious. I know I was deadset on just doing my own thing when I started out, but looking around and browsing other blogs has made blogging that much more fun. So it’s sound advice!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Elisabeth O'Neill says:

    Congrats, and thank you for the nomination! We’ve already done a post for this particular award, but it’s the thought that counts, and we’re so glad you thought of us too.

    It truly is forging your own little community that makes blogging so special. As much as you want your writing to reach someone, it still leaves you awed when people have meaningful responses to your work, then you go check out their blog and fairly often find you have unexpected things in common. It’s a beautiful thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      I saw your post on this yesterday. Still, I’m glad I nominated you because the two of you run a great blog.

      And yes,it really is.
      I didn’t actually expect anyone to check my blog, let alone follow, when I started. Sure, I hoped but there are a lot of aniblogs out there, I thought mine would just be lost among them. So it was a very pleasant surprise to actually connect with people.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Elisabeth O'Neill says:

        D’awww, stahhp.

        It feels a lot like that when you’re starting out, we couldn’t quite believe it when we started getting regular readers. Even now it seems like the world and his dog has an anime blog, only at this point I feel like I’m missing out on so much great stuff from other bloggers I don’t know about!

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Woot woot!!! Congrats and thanks for the nomination!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. cauthan says:

    Congratulations on the award. I have to imagine a lot of bloggers started out in a similar way – you get interesting reading something and realize you have something to say yourself. While it might be plain advice at face-value, it’s probably the most quintessential thing about sharing your thoughts and promoting discussion. Like other people have said, community, ect.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Thank you.
      You’re right about that, I started reading blog entries to hear what other people thought and somehow ended up with my own. It was unexpected, to say the least.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Pingback: Blogger Recognition Award – Reads,Rhythms and Ruminations

  12. Pingback: Nominated for the Blogger Recognition Award | 100WordAnime

Leave a Reply

