Terror in Resonance Episode 3 – Search & Destroy

Summary:

The police finally show some competence… or do they?

Review:

After Shibazaki leaves the archives to become a detective again, the police finally make some headway on the Sphinx case. So far, Shibazaki is portrayed as the typical heroic detective – somewhat quirky and a bit of a lone wolf with a strong sense of justice. His background reveals that he is one of the second generation victims of the atomic bombing at Hiroshima, thus giving him some personal investment in the stolen plutonium. Not only does he successfully connect the blackout prior to the government office bombing to the bombing itself but also solves the most recent riddle from Nine and Twelve. But as impressive as all of that is (particularly the riddle-solving), it appears that he has played right into the boys’ hands.

Shibazaki figuring out the answer and the subsequent disarming of the third bomb allows Nine and Twelve to figure out that the police have connected the stolen plutonium to Sphinx. In fact, the main purpose of the last bomb threat seems to have been to find that out. So despite the newfound competence of the cops, the boys still have the upper hand.

We also get a glimpse of the mysterious ‘institution’ that Nine and Twelve escaped from. The people there seem very nice and humane. Telling little kids that they were abandoned and unloved and undeserving of even names sound like the epitome of human kindness, doesn’t it? Now we know why Nine and Twelve have such imaginative names. The practice of taking away people’s names and assigning numbers instead in an attempt to rob them off their identity and agency has been done before but it never gets any less creepy.

Meanwhile, Lisa’s life continues to suck. The bullying at school is still going on and her home life seems even worse thanks to her abusive mother. Lisa runs away from home but we don’t know where she went or even if she has some place to go. The next episode shall tell, hopefully.

 

Other Stuff:

The ED is growing on me.

About D

Just another avid anime fan.
This entry was posted in Anime, Terror in Resonance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Terror in Resonance Episode 3 – Search & Destroy

  1. raistlin0903 says:

    Okay, is it me, or is this Anime a very dark show (just to clarify I think that is a good thing 😀) Haven’t yet seen it, but it is rising on my to watch list erm book, as something I want to see very soon 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. remyfool says:

    I finished watched episode 3 and now I see you’re finished and wrote about episode 4. I’ll catch up, I promise!

    It’s been a while since I’ve watched a darker show like this, but I like it so far, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      I was planning to wait actually but then you got lost in the depths of Christmas trees and I figured I should post what I had. I’m going slow, though.
      Took those pictures yet?

      Liked by 1 person

      • remyfool says:

        Mmm. I appreciate your kindness. I’ll catch up after I get off work. Need to buy a $20 gift card for Victoria’s Secret though. No, I’m not buying clothing from there! It’s for Secret Santa, I promise!

        Funny that you should mention it. I tried taking pics yesterday but people were working in their cubicles and it made things awkward. So i decided I should go to work early so I can freely take pictures. It’s 4.35 am and I should be heading out soon but I’m still catching up on blogs and notifications aaaaa

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        Riiight, sure I believe you.

        Ah yeah, that would mess up picture plans but dear god, 4.35am? How are you conscious and not in zombie-mode?

        Liked by 1 person

      • remyfool says:

        It’s the truth! ;_;
        Well, I took a “nap” from 5 pm to 9 pm. Then I stayed up writing from episode reviews while trying to catch up on blog stuff. And here we are! I expect to consume a copious amount of coffee.
        Ugh ☕ ☕
        I have good news and bad news.
        I managed to take pics of the trees on our floor (but maybe I should go to the third floor, too, to see what they have to offer).
        However one of the trees isn’t as majestic as it was yesterday…

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        Four hours, huh? You’re right, I do see a lot of caffeine in your immediate future.

        Yes! And nooo. That’s a pity. What happened to it?

        Liked by 1 person

      • remyfool says:

        It’s about as much as I have been getting recently. Just the hours are usually from 2 am to 6 am, haha. Yup, snagged the first cup.

        It went from having a Charlie Brown “star” to not having one. I will post about it when I’m done shopping in a women’s lingerine store.

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        That’s rough. I went for months on similar hours so i feel your pain. good luck.

        Have fun in there. I hope the recipient will be appreciative. Unless you’re secretly going all out in cross-dressing. I promise I don’t judge 😛

        Like

      • remyfool says:

        Thanks. It’s the only way I can see myself getting all the things I want to do done right now. I hope your schedule is better than this! I know you mentioned it’s not exactly great either.
        I’ll try not to look too scummy when I’m inside a store that doesn’t exactly welcome men. She wrote that this was her top pick for gift cards so I guess I gotta bite the bullet here.
        Man, if only I had more guts when I was younger. ;__; my days of looking like a cute girl are over.

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        It’s better now. I’m getting more sleep and laying off the coffee at least. It’ll probably go back to 3-5 hrs and raccoon eyes once the new semester starts.

        Good luck with that then.
        And R.I.P, glory days!

        Liked by 1 person

      • remyfool says:

        That’s good to hear. Can’t burn yourself out!
        The life of a student is really difficult. Kudos to you.
        Well, I bought the giftcard, but then I ended up falling asleep at 5 pm and waking up at 3 am. I’ll have to upload the pics once I get home from work. Thankfully only six more hours…
        R.I.P. glory days, indeed.

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        Thanks. Though from the sounds of it, it doesn’t sound like employed life is sunshines and rainbows either. Frying pan to the fire?

        Hey, at least you caught up on sleep.

        Liked by 1 person

      • remyfool says:

        Well, it’s partially due to the fact that I’ve always had a messed up sleeping schedule. That and I have a job, which is not quite the same as a career. A person has a job in order to pay the bills. A person has a career when they’re doing something they love, thus feeling fulfilled, and they get paid for it. One day I would like a career.
        It wouldn’t sound as bad otherwise. I still think students have it harder, though.
        Yeaaah but I didn’t get anything done that I wanted to do. Which is bad since Tuesday are usually the days in which I try to catch up on various things. Oh, well. Sleep is good.

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        Good luck on having that career. I’m sure you can do it. As for me, I think I prefer college to high-school-that place was a special hell.

        It happens. I’ve had my brain just crash instead of staying up like I wanted it to. So I get the frustration of not being able to get stuff done because of a sudden extended stay with Morpheus. (No, not the matrix guy).

        Liked by 1 person

      • remyfool says:

        Thanks. Who knows? It might happen. But I am also trying to get used to the possibility that I’ll just be miserable for the rest of my working life.
        Yeah, high school sucked. I’m glad neither of us have to deal with that any longer!
        Mmm. Heh, the mythological references, huh? I dig em (I can only associate the matrix guy with memes)

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        That’s not a fun possibility to get used to. Optimism? Optimism!

        Yeah, same. I’m not really an expert on it but it is an area of interest.

        Liked by 1 person

      • remyfool says:

        O-optimism, yay…
        I’m stuck hearing the company heads talking about the company for 2 hours straight. It’s the monthly all-staff meeting, but this one is more pompous than usual since it’s the last one of the year. They’re still rambling as I’m typing this response.
        Mmm I’m the same way.

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        That sounds…riveting. Not.
        My condolences. Seriously.

        Liked by 1 person

      • remyfool says:

        Yeah…it went from 8:15 to 11:15. Everyone was on their phones.
        We did get a break from 9:40 to 10, though.
        It’s like a lecture except way more boring!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

