My Complicated Relationship With Fanservice

title

Would you look at that, I’m posting something that’s not focused on a specific anime. What has the world come to?

Fanservice is a hot topic in the anime community, one that has sparked and continues to spark many a heated discussions. I’ve read a number of articles of varying stances on the topic. Some praised or defended it, others bashed the hell out of it while others offered a more neutral outlook. Usually, I could find points to agree with in all of these arguments because my own attitude towards fanservice is, as the title says, complicated.

Do I like it? Yes, sometimes

Do I hate it? Yes, sometimes.

If that sounds like a cop out, allow me to explain. Or try. Chances are that I’ll just end up rambling so I apologize in advance.

Warning: NSFW images

I don’t mind a lot of things that are termed fanservice. Skimpy armor and revealing clothes are fine with me. Sure, it’s not the most practical thing in the world to fight with only your chest and waist covered (if it’s a guy, the former could be bare as well), but if I can suspend disbelief for giant monsters and magical alien girls, I can deal with some unrealistic dressing choices. As for revealing clothes, it’s downright ridiculous to demand that characters, male or female, should only dress in conservative clothing. As long as the story doesn’t ignore plot progression for the sake of titillation, I’m fine with whatever the characters are wearing.

i-havent-seen-this-yet-but-i-plan-toI haven’t actually watched this one yet

Other things that get a lot of flak are shower scenes and shots of people walking naked/half-naked in their homes. Again, I don’t care. The excessive, sensual focus on the character’s bare body can get irritating if it goes on too long but unless it’s shoved in my face that “yo this is pure fanservice enjoy” then I can look past it. Since I have a tendency to walk around without clothes when I’m alone, the latter aspect sounds realistic to me. Clothes are overrated, people.

who-needs-clothes-in-their-private-spaceSee? Akane agrees.

posing-for-your-viewing-convenienceHisoka too. He’s even posing for your viewing convenience.

If all the nonchalance or positivity above is bothering you, read on to find out what does irritate me.

Big breasts.

watermelons-are-weeping-in-jealousyWatermelons are weeping in jealousy

I don’t mean high school girls with D-cups. That’s not strange, I’ve met girls like that. No, what I mean are unrealistically ginormous boobs that would snap a person’s spine if they were real. I am well aware that my above statement of suspending disbelief can apply to this as well. But I’m sorry, I just can’t do it. I find it disturbing. Whenever I see breasts like that, I’m half afraid that they’ll reach through the screen and strangle me. (Fun fact, I read a book like that once, minus the screen, but it turned out to be the narrator’s imagination going haywire.) And panty-shots. Dear gods, I hate panty-shots, though in this case, it’s less that I’m disturbed and more that they make me uncomfortable. I know that are occasions when a person wearing a skirt might end up flashing their underwear but anime takes this to a whole other level. Impossible positions, ridiculous scenarios, downright weird camera angles – you name it.

did-he-trip-and-fall-face-first-on-her-crotch-it-happensDid he trip and fall face-first on her crotch? It happens!

I’d say that the above two are my pet peeves.

Other irritants include shots where the camera randomly focuses on a girl’s (it’s usually women subjected to this from what I’ve seen so far) breasts or butt in the middle of a conversation about some unrelated topic. Let’s not forget those random swimsuit/hot-spring/indoor-pool episodes which are more annoying for how boring they tend to be rather than the fanservice itself. While we’re on that topic, what is with the tendency to make girls grope other girls out of the blue? I know that it’s intended to be ‘hot’ but it just comes across as harassment because it’s usually done forcefully. Sometimes it’s played off for laughs, which is even worse. There’s nothing funny about molestation.

kazumi-no-was-my-mantra-for-this-whole-show“Kazumi NO” was my mantra for this whole show

Before the end, let me address one last thing.

I don’t even consider same-sex kissing or anything of that nature to even be in the realm of fanservice. Last time I checked, heterosexual couples kissing or messing around was considered to be part of the natural progression of romance rather than needless fan-bait. Why shouldn’t girl/girl or guy/guy couples be afforded the same consideration? The only reason I even thought of including this was because I once read a few comments calling Nezumi and Shion’s relationship in No.6 of all things ‘fanservice’. I don’t even like that show all that much but I will wholeheartedly admit that the central relationship was the one thing they did right.

kissEqual opportunity enjoyment ftw

And that’s it for my first general post.

What kinds of fanservice do you like and dislike? Is there anything that particularly ticks you off?

 

About D

Just another avid anime fan.
This entry was posted in Anime and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to My Complicated Relationship With Fanservice

  1. Karandi says:

    Mostly I’m indifferent to fan service. I do object to armour that serves no purpose and breasts that are anatomically impossible (or bounce or move in really bizarre ways) and I also kind of object to anyone being forcefully groped (though not because it is fan service but just because it is objectionable). Mostly the lingering panty shots, the occasional oops I fell moment, and all the other bits and pieces are just background and I don’t really pay attention unless they openly disrupt the flow of the story.

    Liked by 2 people

    • D says:

      Bizarre breast movements remind me of the ‘matrix boobs’ scene from Highschool of the Dead. There’s not enough brain bleach in the world.

      Indifference sounds like a good attitude to have. Less headaches and rage fits that way. I confess to having screamed at my screen during some of the more irritating fanservice moments.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Anjim says:

    Ecchi sales in japan but it’s there for people who love the characters and it’s a good thing is not apart of the story

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      I can understand why it sells, but I can also see why it would get really irritating especially when it actively interferes with the plot.

      Like

  3. There is a strong disconnect between what many consider fanservice these days. I think you hit it right on that head with the shower scenes and same sex couples kissing. There is a lot of times where I think anime has caused such a trend with the viewer, that they forget what constitutes to just everyday life (Shower scenes) or poignant moments (the kissing) rather than fanservice. An interesting meditation on what constitutes to fanservice I would say is the films Nymphomaniac parts 1 & 2. They are live action, but its a discussion on the idea of sex and the obsession with it, of course for making some awkward moments and bold film-making choices by Lars von Trier (whom on occasion pushes that boundary with a number of his films). Never watched it yet, its got Shia LaBoeuf, but it could probably be used as an example to where fanservice and a distinctly sexual nature is the entire purpose and thus turned into potentially something effective rather than just another sexual scene for no reason or something along those lines. Anime does this a tad bit too often, where the fanservice doesn’t lead to anywhere but another panty shot or that awkward boob physics scene in Highschool of the Dead you were talking about with Karandi.

    To me some of the only times I find fanservice effective is in the context of the comedy if the joke revolves around that, much like Konosuba in its later episodes with the succubi. There is a place to use it to effect and a place where it is just there and hindering the work. Monster Musume has a lot of weird sexual jokes, some do indeed cause me to chuckle, but it is often opting out of the comedy territory for just pure ecchi fanservice. I think it makes the comedy harder to watch if you aren’t into the niche of the show as you don’t know when its just going to cop out of the comedy for pure fanservice. There is a way to use it well in comedy, but to overuse it can create an awkward disconnect within the material. Just like a certain terrible film I watched this year called Fifty Shades of Black which is just all kinds of awkward…never watch it. It makes Monster Musume a walk in the park.

    Fanservice, personally, is not really an issue unless the show makes it one. Its all about the way the fanservice is done with the shot composition, the pacing of events, the focus of the frame, and even the nature of some of the actions (like the molesting of the breasts by other girls…I never understood that trope myself). It can be an intrusive affair, and more often that is the case and where I feel the disconnect for audiences can come from on the most mundane exercises was because of the medium’s overuse of fanservice in multitudes of shows. Its become sort of common place, normalizing it. To me I like having a smoother experience without the cliched moments in anime revolving around fanservice that just are not needed and hinder the experience.

    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. D says:

    I’ve heard of Nymphomaniac before but I don’t know much about it.It sounds pretty interesting. And I agree that there’s a difference between straight up showing sex and hinting at it for the sake of titillation. The former is a pretty big part of human life (for most people) and it can be used purposefully in a story. The latter is what anime usually does, and while I can see where it’s coming from, a lot of it ends up pretty tasteless.

    Using fanservice as joke can backfire splendidly though, since the whole area is full of landmines. For instance, forceful groping is often played for laughs and while some may be able to look past the rapey undertones, other will be put off or offended by it. I haven’t watched Konosuba yet, is it good?

    I looked up Fifty Shades of Black, and that looks…yeah. It’s a spoof of Fifty Shades of Grey, isn’t it? I have a deep loathing for the original and it’s a pity that the parody failed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Titillation and tasteless are the perfect words to describe that sort of tease. Sometimes though I think some shows can stand past that titillation, like surprisingly Rakudai Kishi no Cavalry (when its not having some awkward moments). It uses the ecchi tag to kind of show the relationship struggles with specific focus on those sensual scenes one could have trouble with if inexperienced. Plus its visuals can go experimental creating some interesting moments, all the while still having those hiccups in some moments. It still falls into the tropes of LN adaptations of its nature making it nothing more than an average watch, but its interesting to see how it handled it a lot better than other shows of its nature and the potential it could have had (which I know isn’t saying much at all).

      Lars von Trier in his more avant garde films are hard to stomach so be warned when entering into Nymphomaniac if you do.

      I couldn’t agree more with the comedy. There is a lot of low-reaching fruit that one can tackle in anime with sexual humour. Often I’m reminded of films like Fifty Shades of Black or some terrible Adam Sandler film (so modern day Sandler with the Ridiculous Six) when that happens in anime and it takes me out of the experience.

      Konosuba is good and well worth a watch. I love the variety of its comedy ranging from sexual to slapstick all under the idea of satirizing the very idea of entering into a fantasy world. It works surprisingly well especially with its takes on specific classes in fantasy roleplaying. A lot of tongue and cheek for those who understand the genre, but also a lot of comedy that soars purely because of its characters and the voice actors giving stellar performances. Even if not every joke lands, it does a pretty good job of making one smile. Certainly worth the watch at the very least.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. D says:

    I tend to stay away from LN adaptations of that sort, mostly because I have little patience for ecchi harem antics. I’ve heard of Rakudai Kishi no Cavalry but I don’t think I’ll ever watch it.

    And I’ll keep that in mind. I have a hard stomach so it should be fine. Probably.

    I’m going to add Konosuba to my rapidly growing monster of a list then. From what you said, it sounds like it’s worth a watch.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. raistlin0903 says:

    Well, it pretty much comes down to the old saying: sex sells. It’s a proven fact (at least I think it is lol). That said, I don’t mind the occasional fanservice as long as it doesn’t become the main focus of the Anime.
    Highschool of the Dead for instance made it pretty much the selling point of the show. It started of funny, with showing girls in the most ridiculous poses when fighting zombies. Soon it became just something that felt forced, and as it appeared in every episode it quickly became annoying. Brynhildr in the Darkness, had some mild fanservice, but it did not became the main focus of the show. As such I did not find it annoying or distracting.
    That said, that is pretty much my tolerance for it. If it is functional or not in any way the main focus of the show, it is okay to include it. If it’s only there to show women (or men) in degrading and impossible positions, just to attract some more viewers, you can pass on it.
    Before I forget: great post 😀 And the world is still turning, so you must be doing something right with making posts like these 😂 Keep up the good work !

    Liked by 2 people

    • D says:

      Sex does indeed sell. Personally though, I’d rather just see straight up sex rather than this coy teasing that’s irritating more often than not. I just recently finished Brynhildr and yeah, the fanservice in it never intrudes and, except for when Kazumi gets all rapey, it’s refreshing in its bluntness. I couldn’t make it past 3 eps of Highschool of the Dead though.

      And thank you! Don’t have any ideas for posts like these yet. I had to get this one out if only to understand my own thoughts on fanservice.

      Liked by 1 person

      • raistlin0903 says:

        Haha, yeah that was a really awkward moment indeed lol 😂 Brynhildr was ok, not great, but there was enough in that show to enjoy (except for all the questions that remained unanswered at the end). Highschool of the Dead was pretty bad..I kept watching purely because I am a zombie addict, but it was truly not funny anymore (crazily enough there are enough people who seem to like it ). My own blog started out with only reviews, but I found at times I wanted to just talk about a subject other than a review, which made me start the special features presents series of posts. (Like for instance my recent Childhood movies post). Well, this post was great, so I can’t wait to see what you will come up with next 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I like teh boobies, although once they go over a certain size they look freakish and lose their appeal. You don’t wear clothes at home? This means you write posts in the nude. Blog fan service!

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      I like teh boobies too but I swear to gods, when Shizuka in H.O.T.D appeared, I had to pause the screen and just stew in my horror. Haha yup, I do. Talk about invisible fanservice.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. remyfool says:

    Lately I’ve been displeased with the concept of skimpy plated armor that are basically bikini tops. Apparently if someone pressed down on the “armor,” it’ll just pierce through the woman’s chest.

    It’s just an example of a design that’s rooted in fanservice and is not practical whatsoever. If they’re going to make armored females look sexy, have them wear actual armor. In their doentkmr they can be wearing more causal clothes. Or maybe they’ll be featured in some shower scene where they look much more vulnerable.

    Thanks for sharing. Fanservice is quite controversial!

    Liked by 2 people

    • D says:

      Hello, I see you’ve escaped the Christmas trees.
      That does sound like a pretty sorry excuse for protection. Not something that gets me riled up (yet) but I wonder if that’ll continue if a character I like gets offed because of shit armor. I think my appreciation of impractical armor comes from Fairy Tail’s Erza who rocked in whatever she wore.

      Liked by 1 person

      • remyfool says:

        Hello. I am free from them until Monday. I might take pics of them next week, though.
        Yeah, bikini armor is just for appeal. I haven’t experienced seeing a character I liked get killed because she was trying to wear fashionable armor yet, but I think I’ll dislike the concept even more were that to happen.
        Erza does rock it pretty well, though. What a gal!

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        Enjoy the respite, I’d say you’ve earned it.

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Last Week Today: Week End Recap- Dec. 4th to Dec. 10th | Nice Job Breaking It, Hero

  10. NEETaku says:

    I literally started off my blogging career with a post on fanservice. Needless to say, it’s a topic I bring time and time again when discussing anime. And it’s not like I’m some sort of prude or anything. There was one a time where I myself enjoyed the occasional panty shot or naked lady. But after a while, you have to grow up and realize there’s no real reason for it besides turning someone on.

    I think what bothers me the most is when someone tries to explain me that a show’s plot/story is so GREAT despite there being heavy amounts of fanservice. Keijo would be the latest example of this. If the story, or “deconstruction” in this case, is so good, they wouldn’t need the copious amounts tits and butts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      I remember that post of yours. It was pretty great. I can ignore or condone a lot of fanservice elements but some get on my nerves.
      Keijo is the butt-battle one, isn’t it? Haven’t watched it but doesn’t the entire premise of it involve tits and butts?

      Liked by 1 person

      • NEETaku says:

        It is that butt battle show. At first I just ignored it as just some ecchi show, but then people started saying it’s some kinda deep deconstruction of the genre and I just got even more annoyed by it. Lol.

        Liked by 1 person

  11. Pingback: Day 8: I Was Nominated For A Blog Award – A Story of Six Acts – All Hail Haruhi (It's ironic I swear)

  12. Artemis says:

    I have the same pet peeves, but add to that breast-groping – usually between two women, aka the “check out her huge knockers, I will squeeze them in front of everyone now lol” scene. While I have absolutely no problem with genuine same-sex relationships of any kind in anime, I do have a problem with groping being used in a way that’s clearly supposed to be cute, funny, or sexy but is instead just downright cringe-worthy and/or creepy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Artemis says:

      Aaand I just realised you already wrote about that, but for some reason my eyes just skipped over that entire paragraph. My bad.

      Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        Hey, it happens! I’ve done that too.
        And yeah it’s pretty irritating. As if it’s somehow less offensive because it’s a woman doing it to another woman. Nope, it’s still non-consensual, still molestation. It’s also curious how the same thing almost never happens between men. Like I don’t remember many scenes where one guy starts gushing over another’s abs or grabbing his crotch (which would still be offensive). I’m not saying all anime is tailored for the heterosexual male’s consumption but a lot of them seems to be.

        Like

      • Artemis says:

        Definitely. And while I’m sure a lot of viewers just sort of roll their eyes at such molestation scenes, I think these kinds of things do still inform the general status quo to at least some degree. I get that breast-groping in this context isn’t intended to be taken seriously, but it’s become such a staple of anime now that to some extent, it’s saying that a) girls actually do act this way and b) that’s okay. And that makes me very sad.

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        Same. The way its portrayed screams ‘don’t take this seriously’ and as tempting as that is, just a few seconds of thought will clarify that it is indeed a serious issue. Like you said, it sets the status quo and trivializes such behavior, which is bad no matter how you look at it.

        Honestly, if they want to add random girl on girl action, couldn’t they make it consensual at the very least? Is that too much to ask?
        (Sorry, I tend to rant about stuff like this.)

        Liked by 1 person

  13. JuJu says:

    This was a fun read! I do agree for the most part that fan service being shoved in my face all for the sake of it being there is a waste.

    Although, when it comes to fan service, I believe there are two ways to go about it: Mindful fan service and indulging fan service. Indulging is what you discussed in this post, but there are ways to go about having indulging in one’s work and still be good. An example you mentioned would be the clothes off at home scenarios.

    Mindful is actually having it being important to the story in way that makes sense. Last season’s Keijo is an example since the point of it was to have fan service serve as progression. For mindful fan service, there are other categories along with it, but I’ve rambled long enough, haha.

    Thanks for the post and keep it up! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Thank you! Yes, I agree that there are shows where fanservice has a point other than just being sexy eye candy. I’m fine with that as well. I have yet to see Keijo but Mnemosyne, an anime with quite an amount of nudity and sexual content, is a good example for a show that employs those scenes to progress the plot.

      Like

  14. Cat says:

    I like tasteful fanservice a lot, but there’s clearly a lot that isn’t. Also agreed that same-sex relationships are not and shall never be fan service ffs. Homophobes get so pressed, swear to fucking hell.
    There’s certain type of camera movements and how they prop up a scene that makes me uncomfortable with fanservice, it’s when they really go down straight to the cleavage from the top, or to the pantyline/asscrack from the top too. It just makes it so weird and creepy that people are talking and it’s THERE they’re focusing the camera, jfc.
    But I do like some good ecchi done right, Boku Girl is one of my faves and I love love how they use it. Suggestive poses, yet at the same time not showing everything, so it becomes sexy. Plus brownie points that Mizuki has small boobies, and I loveeee when I encounter small boobies in anime. I swear the love for those balloon boobs is something I can’t understand, maybe I’d need to be male or have a D to understand? I don’t know but really not for me :’D
    Who doesn’t like walking around naked when it’s summer and you feel like boiling? Like common! Tho I don’t go to the extent of blogging/writing in the nude, mostly because sitting naked means stuck like glue from the sweat/heat eww

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      I get annoyed every time a kiss between women is branded as ‘fanservice for men’ and a kiss between men is branded as ‘fanservice for women’. Yeah, no, het couples are not the only valid coupes. It doesn’t help that even tastefully portrayed same-sex relationships usually get some hate for offending someone’s delicate sensibilities.

      Ah yeah, I get what you mean – those shots where the subject’s breasts or nether regions are practically shoved down your throat. That’s a kind of objectification that’s impossible to ignore. It doesn’t help that most such angles are unnecessary as well as odd, purely there for highlighting those body parts whatever the context.

      Balloon boobs…yeah I don’t get that either. I like breasts whether small or big but unrealistic sizes are nothing short of creepy. I honestly don’t get what’s sexy about them but clearly, others find it so. And hey, in my defense, I use my laptop from my bed most of the time. 😀 If I’m on a chair, it’s with clothes – or at least pants – on.

      Like

      • Cat says:

        Saame! Everything branded as y-baiting or fan service can just be bombed away 💣💣💣💣
        Yeah, same sex couples hurt homophobics just by breathing, also the lengths some of them go to DENY it is a same sex relationship, smh!
        Really out there porn makes breasts so huge they can reach thighs, just NO
        Naked writing in bed…hahahaha, clinging them ranks! XD yeah chairs + naked bits = nopenope, definitely need a towel. Pants are way too hot ;P

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        Funny you should mention that because a friend just showed me a post that went like:
        A man and a woman look at each other – It’s true love and they’re meant to be together
        Two people of the same sex kiss onscreen – They’re just really good friends!

        Yeah sure I swap saliva with my friends all the time. O course on occasions where it’s not passed off as friendship, baiting or subtext, people whine that the gay is ruining anime. Kill. Me. Now.
        I’m sorry, I get really riled up about this topic.

        Ohh yes, I’ve seen them. There’s not enough brain bleach in the world.

        Yeah fair enough. Shorts are an option too!

        Like

      • Cat says:

        That post is true. Remember when Yuri looked at Amala and a huge part of the fandom meant they were going to get together and shit, like wtf???
        I swap saliva, marriage rings that cost 800€, and sleep with them in the same bed all the time, also get naked constantly around them lmao.
        The “baiting” and the “fujoshi bait” arguments make me wanna stab everyone tbh. Funny how it’s all bait if it’s targeted at girls, as if it meant if they didn’t have the bait girls wouldn’t watch the shows, like ????
        Trust me,,i get riled up too 🔪🔪🔪🔥
        😹😹😹😹😹😹😹😹

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        I haven’t actually seen any of the 2016 anime but YoI is on top of the list along with 91 Days. But even so, I’ve seen spoiled a little and have seen posts labeling Yuri and Victor as just friends which sounds…unlikely to say the least.

        That also implies that only girls want to watch hot men getting it on and vice versa. Just – no. That’s an appallingly heteronormative point of view and the worst thing is that it’s still so prominent. Why is the world so fucked up??

        Like

      • Cat says:

        You do need fo watch YoI ❤
        It is super unlikely, super not true, or real. I swear some people jfc
        Right? As if i don't like seeing girls kissing or fucking, cause i do! And guys can perfectly like seeing two guys date, kiss and get together ffs!
        Smh at people really 😤

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        Exactly. It’s been good to vent with you, Cat!

        Like

  15. Arria Cross says:

    Excellent post, D. There are many times I laughed reading this. So good to read! Are you on a roll or what? My take on fan service is complicated, too, somewhat bordering on neutral territory. I don’t mind skimpy outfits, as well. In fact I like seeing these female characters who are both sexy and insanely strong, those who can slice you in half with their power. So cool. They portray that a female can be sexy, confident and strong all at the same time. I don’t like panty shots and ginormous bouncy boobs either, but I can tolerate them as long as the story is entertaining or really good (e.g. Sayonara Zetsubou-sensei, Bakemonogatari). I think that as long as fan service is not overdone and contributes to the plot, it’s acceptable. But if it’s totally degrading, forget it. I think they should make fan service more tasteful, maybe. Just a thought. Great post. Keep it up. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Thank so much, Arria!

      Tasteful fanservice would be great. Best of both worlds and all that. The concept of sexuality being artful isn’t exactly a new one. But yeah, flashing panties is not the way to go. I see a lot of potential in shower scenes actually. It’s an everyday activity that’s very plausibly when shown on screen and I find the combo of water and skin pretty mesmerizing. Do something more with that, anime.

      Also agreed about strong, sexy women. It’s just another variety of showing strength. Plus no one can look at Fairy Tail’s Erza and say she can’t kick ass even in underwear.

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Pingback: Best Posts Round-Up of the 9th Fujinsei Blog Carnival | Fujinsei

  17. Pingback: My Thoughts on the Landscape of Yuri Anime – Fanservice – The Lily Garden

  18. I love your list of fanservice pet peeves and that you acknowledge that you don’t hate all of fanservice, just the really irritating moments. You’ve nailed the ones that always irritate or concern me the most. If I were to add one to your list, it would be having a character twist in unnatural positions in order to land in sexy positions. You briefly mentioned that in the part about panty shots. The one that is most irritating to me is the boob-butt shot, where a woman manages to twist her spine enough to get a full shot of her breasts and butt in the same frame. Women are especially good at doing this when striking heroic poses or participating in epic battles!

    The only time that the camera randomly panning over a woman’s butt or breasts doesn’t irritate me is when it is purposefully done in order to show you what type of person she is talking to. There are some examples where you know that it is done to demonstrate that this is where the other speaker’s eyes have wandered.

    I also really enjoyed that you pointed out that LGBT relationships are often considered fanservice and should not be. I agree. Although, I do have to say that some relationships, heterosexual or LGBT, do seem to develop as a tribute to fans rather than as a thing that was originally planned out. These, I wouldn’t mind considering fanservice.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Thank you. Hating all fanservice is a common stance but honestly, I enjoy moments of it while disliking others. Might as well be upfront about that.

      I’ve seen a few of the boob-butt shots you’ve mentioned and yeah, that’s the kind of flexibility that would put a seasoned gymnast to shame. But the shots where it shows another character’s eyes wandering to sensitive places are fine since it adds a sense of realism though even that would get irritating if used gratuitously.

      I’m not sure if I’ve seen any anime where a relationship forms due to fandom popularity but I guess that does count.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

