The Sunshine Blogger Award II

My first award of 2017! Well not really since I was nominated in 2016 but I couldn’t get to it before. Sorry, Cauthan.

sunshine

 

First of all, my eternal gratitude to Cauthan of Cauthan Reviews for the nomination. As his blog name suggests, Cauthan primarily focuses on reviewing anime. They’re pretty amazing  and spoiler-free as well. He also writes seasonal posts, episodics and articles. It’s an amazing blog, go check it out.

 

Rules:

1 Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
2 Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.
3 Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and write then 11 new questions.
4 List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post and/or on your blog.

 

Cauthan’s Questions:

1. What show or movie are you most looking forward to next seeing?

Attack on Titan s2 and the new Alien movie. I only recently found out the latter’s existence though.

2. Has there ever been a show that you initially disliked upon seeing it the first time however ended up enjoying it the second time around? Yeah, me neither

I don’t rewatch shows a lot and I’m highly unlikely to rewatch shows I didn’t like in the first place, so no.

3. What’s your favorite underrated anime? What show deserves far more recognition than it currently has?

Why do I have a feeling that this question should be asked people who’ve seen more anime than me… I’d say Ayakashi. I don’t see this anime mentioned often but it’s really good. Not all that horrifying but still a great collection of stories.

4. Do you have a favorite actor, voice actor, or seiyuu? If so, who?

Nope! I don’t pay attention to VAs (I usually don’t pay attention to the actors in live action either) and it’s always a surprise when I recognize a seiyuu’s voice.

5. You’re dreadfully thirsty – what’s your perfect thirst quencher?

Mountain Dew. Yeah, I know, not the healthiest option. YOLO? Chilled chocolate milk works too. Actually anything cold would but the top choice is definitely Dew.

6. What’s your favorite Opening (OP) or Ending (ED) sequence in anime?

At the moment, Guren no Yumiya (OP) and Utsukushiki Zankoku no Sekai (ED) from Attack on Titan. Seriously, that show has some spectacular music. The opening and ending themes are my two of my favorite parts of an anime so my collection of them is always growing.

7. Who or what is your favorite antagonist?

Makishima Shogo. I feel like a broken record but I maintain that he’s the most compelling villain – or character – that I’ve seen.

8. What’s a key feature of a show that you look for to determine whether you like it or not?

Characters. A nice and tight plot is always appreciated but as long as the characters are interesting, I can put up with a lot.

9. What is one thing you wish you could change about your favorite show or movie?

When wasthe last time I even watched a movie? Sticking to anime then. I’d take the courtroom scene out of AoT because that was a really brutal and humiliating scene that I cringed my way through. It’s mostly because I am an ardent Eren fan and that boy has enough shit to live through without adding an unnecessary beating to it. I know it has an important purpose in the story. I just wish they’d found another way.

10. What was your favorite anime that aired this year (2016)?

The only anime that aired in 2016 that I watched is Durarara Ketsu so that will have to be default answer.

11. What are you looking forward to in 2017?

Nothing in particular. I just hope it’ll be a good year.

 

My Nominees:

Prepare to see the usual names of some amazing bloggers. Feel free to ignore this if awards aren’t your thing or if you don’t have the time for it.

Karandi

The Lily Garden

Raistlin

Prattle

Nice Job Breaking It, Hero

Reads, Rhythms and Ruminations

Ryuji Tatsuya’s Anime Review

Archi-Anime

The Otaku Judge

Acacia Aurora

melinanimeland

The struggle used to be finding enough blogs to nominate, now it’s limiting their number. I call that improvement.

 

My Questions:

01 Do you have any resolutions for 2017?

02 A book series you would like to see an anime adaptation of.

03 What is your biggest disappointment about 2016?

04 Favorite music genre

05 Which anime do you desperately want to get a new season?

06 The worst case of sequelitis you’ve ever seen. Can be anime, film, book etc.

07 What’s your opinion about the Big Three of anime – Naruto, Bleach and One Piece?

08 What do you think is the ideal length for an anime?

09 Name an anime/manga character you’d like to see dead and one you’d like to return to life.

10 The last anime/manga you completed….have I asked this question before?

11 Do you prefer romance to be the central element in a story or a secondary one?

 

Please forgive any typos and the like. I’m sleep deprived right now.

I didn’t think I’d post anything on Jan 1, least of all an award, but here I am. So…

Happy New Year!

Hopefully it’s not as shitty as 2016 has been. Though Trump is still the US President so I’m not all that optimistic.

 

 

About D

Just another avid anime fan.
This entry was posted in Award and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to The Sunshine Blogger Award II

  1. Arria Cross says:

    Big congrats on this award and Happy New Year, D!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. maengune says:

    Congratulations, D!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. avathenerd says:

    Congratulations and thanks for the nomination! Attack on Titan has some great music.
    Happy New Year! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulation on the award and thanks for the nomination! I thought that I was the only one who doesn’t take not on the VAs, I guess we are in the same boat. Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. raistlin0903 says:

    Yet another very well deserved award: congratulations on this one 😀 Liked reading your answers to the questions. And ofcourse thank you so very much for yet another nomination. Really getting humbled here. I am running behind myself on a few of these awards, I have a bit of stuff going again in my life that I hope to resolve in the coming two weeks. As such I have little bit less time on my hands (not that I had much to begin with lol 😂). I promise to make a post though, because I really appreciate it very, very much. Looking forward to the coming year: I am sure your future posts will be awesome again, and I always like trading thoughts on a particular movie or series with you. Keep up the great work, and ofcourse : Happy New Year ! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Thanks! And hey, there’s no hurry. Unlike the post, I don’t think the life stuff will be kind enough to wait. It sucks that you have less time though I will soon join you in that boat. Let’s suffer together.

      It’s always great to chat with you, man. And your blog entires never cease to be fun. Let’s have a good 2017….hopefully. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • raistlin0903 says:

        Haha, yeah let’s to that. Hopefully we won’t need to big a boat for it lol 😂 Hmm, that said hope things will go good for you as well, abd hey I am confident for 2017: it WILL be a good year (sometimes saying it out loud makes it true 😂😂)

        Liked by 1 person

  6. prattle says:

    Congratulations and thanks for the nomination! I’ll try to see if I can get it done 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. 01. It would be nice to lose some weight in 2017.

    02. An anime version of Fight Club could be cool.

    03. Realizing that my blog dropped in popularity since 2015.

    04. Eighties rock.

    05. Kamisama Dolls. The manga is finished and a good chunk of the story was already animated in a short season.

    06. The third Madoka movie’s ending tarnished my opinion of the series.

    07. They have some excellent story arcs, but I am not a fan because I dislike filler and shows that drag on forever.

    08. Sixty episodes/three seasons is a good length for telling a deep story without overstaying your welcome.

    09. Bring back Mizuka Irei because I felt bad by the manner in which she died. Can’t think of anyone to kill because most anime evil doers get their comeuppance eventually.

    10. The Perfect Insider.

    11. Secondary because most romance shows aren’t my cup of tea.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. YahariBento says:

    Congrats for this New Year gift, @D. :3

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Congrats for your award and thank you for nominated me!!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. remyfool says:

    Congratulations on the award and thanks for nominating me! I’ll get to it when I can!

    Your love for AoT really shone here, huh? Heck, your profile picture changed to Hange. I like it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Take your time, man. It seems like you’re being run ragged.

      And oh yeah, between this post and the Roundup, I’ve fawned over AoT enough to last a lifetime. But I won’t stop just yet. I’M NOT ASHAMED OF MY LOVVVEE.
      …I’m a little crazy today sorry.

      As for Hange, there’s a specific reason why I chose them rather than Eren or Levi. See, when I first saw Hange, I was confused as fuck about their gender. Later, the anime portrayed them as female but I found out that in the manga canon, Hange has no set gender and it’s open to all interpretations. Can ya see where I’m going with this? I’ve chosen to adopt the popular headcanon that Hange is non-binary, and since I am as well, they seemed like the perfect mascot. Suits me better than Ryoma.

      Liked by 1 person

      • remyfool says:

        Maybe a little. I’m staying up to catch up on blogs before I head to work today. I was going to try to finish my Rundown of 2016 Anime but it seems unlikely.
        EMBRACE YOUR LOVE
        It’s okay, we all are a little crazy.
        Mmm that makes a lot of sense. Hange is Hange. People should just accept that!
        Gosh, I wish I knew where I put this pin I picked up when I visited the gender studies office back when I was a freshmen. It said, “gender is non-binary” and it really made sense to me.
        Sometimes I wonder how my life would be different if I changed my major to gender studies since I was apparently pretty good at writing about that, but I don’t know.
        Hange may suit you more, but it’s going to be a while before I stop associating Ryoma with you automatically.

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        I hope you’re getting enough sleep. Or enough-ish sleep. The week’s just begun and it’s already hell, huh?

        Gods, I’d kill for a pin like that. I don’t think the backwater hole I live in even has a college that offers gender studies but I probably will get out of here for my graduate course. I want to focus on either gender studies or lgbt literature. Or both. I’m gonna shut up now but just gotta say that it makes so damn happy to know you’re good at that topic.

        (Tbh, I still think of the Ryoma icon mostly. Change takes tiiime.)

        Like

      • remyfool says:

        I napped from 4pm to 8pm. I should be fine, I guess. My complexion is suffering, but it’s not like I’m trying to look good!
        Yeah, it was nice. Mmm any idea where you wanna go? Those topics seem great to study. Well, I was alright, but the teacher assistant really liked what I wrote. That was years ago and I sort of lost my writing chops, but I’m glad to have taken the course. Blaaah I’m talking too much, but I am still a bit proud of the midterm I wrote for that class since he spread it around for everyone to read. I still have it wahaha fhsoifhwf
        (Time changes and heals many things. Hange will grow on us as your icon)

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        If it makes you feel any better, I’m pale to the point of vampirism at the moment because of too little blood and too little sun. Like Twilight but without them sparkles. Thank god.

        Ok now I’m kinda curious to read what you wrote. What was the topic? And dude, if I had a well-written and praised article on such a topic, I’d be proud as hell too. Be prouuud!

        Liked by 1 person

      • remyfool says:

        It’s a good look. Oh, but being tan is a good look, too. Be mindful of your health!
        Hmm unfortunately I don’t have the prompt attached to the short essay. I don’t think I can access my school email anymore, either. Oh…that means I can’t contact some of my professors anymore, either.
        Hang on, let me put into a pastebin if you’re curious to read it.
        Thaaanks c:

        Liked by 1 person

      • remyfool says:

        Ayyy I trigger the spam filter because I talked about the male reproductive organ.

        http://pastebin.com/AesX9p0Q

        I’m not sure I agree with penis envy these days, but here. Hopefully I’m not forcing my essay onto you ;_;

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        I was actually going to ask for it before I decided to ask for the topic first and build up to it. Subtle is my middle name 😐

        So yeah no forcing involved. Imma go read.

        Liked by 1 person

      • remyfool says:

        No, I’m not very subtle, either, wahaha. But I also figured that it’ll be better to just send it since the prompt has gone missing.
        O-okay, be gentle.

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        First of all, what is it with Freud and dicks. Seriously that man was obsessed.

        Moving ooon. I get why your TA was so taken with it. It really is well-written and your ideas are clearly as well as thoughtfully elucidated. *applause*

        Also, I’ve been wanting to watch Star Driver for a long time and now you’ve pretty much ensured that I will.

        As for penis envy (and womb envy while we’re on it) , I don’t think that’s a thing either these days but then, I don’t think Freud made allowances for trans men or trans women.

        Liked by 1 person

      • remyfool says:

        He really loved the bulge.
        Wahaha, that was back in my prime. Now I can only appreciate other’s thoughtful posts while I opt for a more casual tone! But thanks ;_;
        Star Driver is entertaining, but it’s not exactly a show of substance. Lots of sexual imagery and subtext, though. Libido is something they refer to repeatedly throughout the show!
        Yeah, both terms seem rather outdated. Not allowing tras men or trans women?! Well, Freud, you had a nice run.

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        Somebody should build a dildo museum in his honor. (What has this conversation come to?)

        Your casual posts are fun too, Remy!

        I don’t actually know for sure what his stand on transgenders was but the terming behind both these terms don’t allow for anything outside the gender binary.

        Liked by 1 person

      • remyfool says:

        A didlo museum would be no joke. There’s so much variety! (This conversation is very important)
        Thanks! I just wish I was a bit more analytical like you, but I’ll live!
        I see. That’s too bad.

        Sorry I took so long to reply. Had to drive to work. Time to do my time!

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        Yes, that’s definitely true.

        Aw thanks. You should see my literature papers though. It’s less analysis and more bullshit sprayed with some pretty perfume to hide the stench.

        I fell asleep soon after actually. Oops. It’s fine anyway though.

        Liked by 1 person

      • remyfool says:

        Facts is facts!
        Heh, you gotta do what you gotta do when it comes to literature!
        Oh, sleep is good! Feel more rested?
        Phew~

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        True. What, thet expect us to crank out deep essays in under 30 min? Yeah right.

        Yup, though that means my sleep cycle is skewed. Again. Ah well.

        Good luck with work!

        Liked by 1 person

      • remyfool says:

        Timed essays are the worst. Hang in there!
        Oh no ;__; aren’t classes supposed to start up soon?
        Thanks. I passed out while using the toilet earlier. Don’t know how long I was out. Good incentive to grab coffee!

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        Yup next week. I can deal with classes, it’s the exams that sap my soul.

        Yeah, I’d definitely say that’s your cue to get the caffeine flowing.

        Liked by 1 person

  11. Abhijit says:

    Congratulations!😄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

