Prince of Stride Episode 12 -End of Summer

End of Summer – And Beyond

Stride – A trail created by relaying trust and connecting emotions

Overview:

0

Here we are. The end. And I gotta say, the final match was minimalistic and sentimental and cheesy as all hell but these characters make it work.

The opening scene is Riku and Takeru running through a field of sunflowers while Nana narrates about stride and sentiment. What even is this show?

Moving on, there’s over a week till the final and Honan is training. Takeru is once again assigned to be their anchor, i.e, final runner, but he pleads for Riku to be allowed to run against Tomoe instead. Riku, surprised but pleased, joins in and the rest of the team acquiesce. I guess I was right in my guess last episode. Then again, Riku running against his brother has been predictable for a while.

Anyway, everyone is pumped. Nana seems ready to face her father head on.

The match itself is kinda anti-climatic though. As the first three (Heath, Kyosuke and Hozumi) run, Riku delivers a long speech to Tomoe about all that he has experienced with the others in Honan and how he’s there because he wants to run with Tomoe and also to fulfil a promise he made. Meanwhile, we catch glimpses of Honan’s previous opponents cheering them on. Tomoe seems happy with the matured, cheery Riku.

a

Takeru, when it’s his turn, has his own internal monologue about how that childhood meeting with Riku and Nana gave him a goal to aspire too. He uses his feelings to fuel his run against Pinky and manages to connect with Riku, complete with a heartfelt ‘thank you’. Riku and Tomoe run and then…

c

It fades to white.

Next thing we see is Nana rushing to school, followed by Riku and Takeru jumping the gate in an altered version of the scene in episode 1.

Yeah.

We then get some nice scenes of the quirky everyday lives of Honan Stride/Shogi club members while the narration bludgeons us over the head about how they’re all friends whose journey continues on. Thankfully, we do find out from a magazine article that Honan did indeed win. Good work, Honan.

b

Thoughts:

My original reaction to the fade-to-white included more curses than is appropriate here so let’s just say that I was very miffed. I wanted to see that ribbon break dammit. But I think that by that point, showing them win was less important that illustrating the bonds they’d developed with each other. PoS has never been shy about its fixation on the emotional component of the game and that’s especially true in this episode.

Speaking of, is the whole ‘previous opponent turned cheer squad’ thing a normal thing for sports anime? My experience with them is limited but it was there in Prince of Tennis as well and now Kuroko no Basket is showing signs of it. As far as tropes go, it’s one I like even if I’ll get increasingly incredulous if I pause to think about it.

d

Well this is it. This has been a really fun show to watch and review. It’s nothing special but all the same, it’s an interesting story with a unique premise. It’s also rather predictable at parts but that alone isn’t really a negative.


Knights of Sidonia won the mecha poll, though Heavy Object was a close second. But I’m leaving on a trip tomorrow so it’ll be a while before I can get to it.

About D

Just another avid anime fan.
This entry was posted in Anime, Prince of Stride and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Prince of Stride Episode 12 -End of Summer

  1. Karandi says:

    Reading your posts on this has made me want to binge watch it again as its been awhile and I only watched it once. I remember it is really chessy in places but fun to watch and to be honesty, I could do with some cheesy feel good at the moment.
    Knights of Sidonia will be quite a shift from this and I look forward to your thoughts on it once you have a chance to start it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Thank you! And yeah, we all have times when some cheese can be helpful and this show delivers it very well. It was enjoyable from start to finish.

      So far, the shows for these posts have been fun to blog so I hope Sidonia will be as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. heyitszel says:

    You made it! I haven’t watched season 2 of Knights of Sidonia; but I’m looking forward to what you have to say! I’m glad you had fun with Prince of Stride. I agree with Karandi – it was really cheesy at some places, but I still enjoyed it for what it was! 🙂

    Also, I guess opponents turning cheer squad is a thing…it’s definitely in KnB; kind of in Haikyuu but really. There, opponents wish Karasuno the best to keep winning-but they don’t go out of their way to watch these matches and cheer them on..if that made any sense. lol I know they do in KnB..LOL I’m laughing thinking about this one scene in season 3. HAHAHA dammit…gonna go watch KnB now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Thanks a lot, especially for dropping by to share your thoughts. And yes, this show has some tasty cheese.

      That sure makes more sense than the defeated flocking to watch the matches and cheer. I’m about to finish KnB s2 and even Aomine is doing it. Looking forward to that scene in s3…I wonder if I’ll recognize it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • heyitszel says:

        LOL oh without a doubt you’ll recognize it! Especially since how u described it triggered that memory for me. Don’t get me wrong I love KnB and am a pretty big fan of it. I probably shouldn’t have laughed but I laughed so hard at that particular scene. Also aomine lmao god I felt horrible for laughing at him but anyways. 🙂 can’t wait to see what u think of KnB!!

        Liked by 2 people

      • D says:

        Now I’m really curious. But I shall be patient!

        I love it so far. The games are really something else. They get me more excited than any real life sports I’ve watched, that’s for sure.

        Liked by 1 person

      • heyitszel says:

        LOL this is true, I also watch NBA pretty regularly and nowadays when I watch Steph curry play I swear it’s like watching Midorima in real life

        Liked by 1 person

  3. raistlin0903 says:

    Yes…so excited that Knights of Sidonia has made the final vote, am currently watching season 2 (since I knew there was a chance that you might review it). Really looking forward to your posts for this, and ofcourse sharing some thoughts 😊 I hope you have a great trip ofcourse, and above all have fun 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Remy Fool says:

    Phew what a ride. Thanks for making such nice episode reviews and sharing your thoughts!

    I felt the same way when my loli ping pong show did a time skip and then a skyward shot at the very end. What about closureeeee? I want to see protagonists shine at the very end. It’s not unreasonable right?

    Waiting warmly for yer return, Cap’n D.

    Liked by 2 people

    • D says:

      Thanks for coming along for the ride! Next up, Knights of Sidonia.

      The Scorching one, I’m guessing? Closure is important. But hey, we got to see that Honan won. Not exactly a surprise but still nice to know.

      I’m back, as you can see 😀 I missed you guys.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

