Knights of Sidonia S01 E01 – First Battle

01 – First Battle

… in which we have tentacle monsters and third genders.

00

Overview:

First things first – I love the OP and like the ED. To balance that out, the art makes my eyes bleed.

We start with a young man attacking a monster in a mecha and winning, only for it to be later revealed that it was a VR simulation. The same guy, named Nagate, later climbs to the surface to steal rice only to fail pitifully and get caught. A masked person in a room full of machines(?) wonder if Nagate has inherited a certain dead guy’s experience and knowledge.

Meanwhile, we see some students, by that I mean random naked girls, training to be pilots who’re interested in the weird rice thief. Of course Nagate’s escape attempt lands him with them.

Turns out mankind is at war with gauna, aliens with tentacle-like appendages and regenerative powers. Fortunately, it’s been 100 years since a gauna has appeared. Many think that they’re gone for good and that the military should be abolished. We know that won’t happen because since when are things that easy?

The masked person from before, Kobayashi, pardons Nagate and asks that he be a Gardes pilot. He enrols in class with the students from before. Nagate befriends Izana, one of the third gender humans who can procreate with either sex. That’s kinda amazing.

Everyone’s eager to see his performance in the sim but he’s rather abysmal, apparently because the VR model he’s used to is quite different. The captain, i.e, Kobayashi, isn’t deterred and sends Nagate along with seven others on a mining mission, giving him an older, famous Gardes model named Tsugumori. The mission naturally goes to hell when a gauna appears, unceremoniously ending those 100 years of peace.

 

Thoughts:

I am so torn.

On one hand, I’m quite taken by the setting. Knights of Sidonia seems to have crafted an interesting future world. But on the other, I was yawning my way through the first episode. It felt so dull even though it shouldn’t have been. It doesn’t help that every time the characters make any kind of facial expression, I’m tempted to close the window and abandon anime forever.

I have yet to give even the tiniest shit about any of the characters but that might change. It better or I’ll drop this.

At least the music is cool.

 

I know I said I’d review two episodes together but I think I’ll stick to one and instead try to post every day. Ha. What am I getting myself into?

 

About D

Just another avid anime fan.
This entry was posted in Anime, Knights of Sidonia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Knights of Sidonia S01 E01 – First Battle

  1. Karandi says:

    The art is pretty hard to get used to in this. Eventually I stopped caring and just went with it, but their faces are just incredibly creepy. I didn’t mind the story but it is also pretty forgettable at the end of the day (fun enough while watching) but nothing overly special. I didn’t make it through the whole second season (I didn’t actually drop it, I just stopped watching and never got around to going back).

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Creepy sounds right. Whenever they speak or make expressions, it’s extremely weird.

      So far, I’ve watched 2 episodes and the story seems just fine, but I can’t invest in it for some reason. I thought I’d give it a couple more episodes and then decide whether to continue.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Karandi says:

        I think you hit the nail on the head. I was never invested in the show. It was watchable and some parts are quite good, but I never cared all that much. It might just be the art style.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. raistlin0903 says:

    Haha, yes, you have started on it. Finally a show that I have seen and can react to 😊 I know, the art is definitely something to get used to. The thing I found to be the hardest to get used to, was the fact that so many characters look alike. I really had difficulty separating them from each other. I agree with the fact that this series starts off slow, I do recommend to stick with it until episode 4. That was for me the point where I really started to enjoy the series. But as Karandi said above, not everything about this series is good. Looking forward to the next post, and if you will continue to watch it 😉 Great starting post though 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Right? I was really confused by all those girls with the same hair and face, and just assumed they were clones. That said, the setting really is cool. I appreciate good world-building a lot and Sidonia seems to do a decent job in that regard. But that and the music are the only appeal for the time being.

      I will definitely watch till episode 4 and afterwards, we’ll see 😀 Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Artemis says:

    I really liked the music for this series too, particularly the OP. Interestingly, the art never really bothered me all that much – I mean, it didn’t exactly endear itself to me, but I got used to it fairly quickly after a certain point just stopped noticing altogether.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Yes, the OP is amazing. Pleasant to listen to and the lyrics are also interesting. The art is irritating for now but I’m sure I’ll be able to get used to it if I end up sticking with this show.

      Like

  4. Remy Fool says:

    The art is a bit jarring but I had prior exposure to this kind of style in other shows the studio produced. Yes, they embrace the weirdness I guess.

    I realized while I was watching the first episode that I looked at the tv tropes for this and read the last few chapters like over a year ago. The story is messed up and that’s what I like about it. But I never read or watched the story proper. Hmmm.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      A bit too much weirdness I’d say.

      “Messed up’, huh? That sounds like it could be fun. I’m only tentatively into it so far and am hoping the first season won’t be too painful.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

