Knights of Sidonia S01E12 – Returning to the Ship

12 – Returning to the Ship

…in which the current main threat is eliminated

a

Overview:

Here we are, the final episode. It’s got some nice parts and some full parts. Par for the course, I guess.

The superpowered cannon from Sidonia manages to blast open a hole in the gauna nest’s exterior. What’s left of the pilots except for Nagate, Izana and Ren -one of the clone sisters – enter the gauna. As Nagate goes to take on Benisuzume, Ren gives him her last kabi bullet for him to avenge her fallen sister with.

Both parties have their work cut out for them. As good as Nagate is, Benisuzume is just as skilled and soon knocks him out. Though it seems like that’s the end for him, Izana pursues his falling frame and pulls him away from danger. Their frame then takes damage from Benisuzume but by that time, Nagate wakes up and is back in the fight. He runs out of ammo and seems to be in a pinch but then remembers the bullet Ren gave him and takes out Benisuzume with an impassioned speech about how it’s not Shizuka and isn’t even human.

Inside of the gauna, some of the older pilots are trying to find the master gauna only to be attacked by tentacles from all sides. It doesn’t help that their frames are close to running out of ammo. When they do find it, its armour is thick as hell, so Tsuruuchi – the photosynthesis guy – takes it upon himself to tear open a hole in it. He runs out of power before he can complete it but then another guy takes over. They expose the master gauna’s core and kills it, right in time for the anti-planet missile to blow everything up.

For a while, it seems like Izana and Ren are the only survivors but Nagate and the pilots from inside are shown to have survived.

All is well in Sidonia.

Except Kunato who’s still sulking and thinks that the world should burn because he feels cheated out of his glory. But plot twist! Nagate shows up at his door to wax poetic about his love for Sidonia and its food and people and also to ask Kunato out to dinner.

No, seriously, that happened.

His words somehow cause Kunato to question his recent despicable actions. There are tears involved.

Forget the man-eating tentacle monsters and immortal skull things, this is the most surreal moment in this whole damn show.

Moving on, Kobayashi finds out about the skull things trying to leave in case the mission failed and resolves to get rid of them after extracting all the information from Ochiai’s auxiliary brain. The last scene is of Nagate happily going to visit Shizugauna but its cell is shown to be empty. Wonder where it went.

 

Thoughts:

This is it, Sidonia. The time has come for you and I to part ways. It’s been a fun few days but all good things must come to an end.

Oh who am I kidding, I’m glad this show’s over. That said, it was fun to watch/discuss this with two other people – Remy and WeekendOtaku – and also have Michels and Karandi throw in their thoughts. The comments section was the best part of this series really.

As for this episode, my feelings echo the last post. The ending functions well as season finale, wrapping up the main ongoing issues while leaving other things unresolved for future episodes (that I will not be watching) to handle. The final fights are nothing impressive but it’s executed nicely enough.

The only real problem is the scene with Kunato. What even is happening there? We have this guy who’s been nothing but horrible to Nagate from the start for no reason other than wounded pride and if that’s not enough, he also caused countless pointless deaths merely for the sake of taking his rival down a peg. Simply put, he’s an utter asswipe. Still, worse villains than him have been redeemed in stories so it’s not completely out of the question to give him a chance to grow into a better person, so long as it’s done carefully and tastefully.

You know how it shouldn’t be done?

By making the main character spew an uninspired speech about love and food that magically causes someone who’s been a cold-hearted, self-absorbed brat until this point to burst into tears and become remorseful. That’s just… I was literally rolling my eyes for the entirety of that scene. Sidonia, for all that it handles its plot with some semblance of skill, does not know how to make compelling characters.

But whatever. It’s done and I can happily pretend that everything after the ten surviving pilots returned home never happened.


Diabolik Lovers won the poll but it tied with Blood Lad.

That’s never happened before.

Looks like quite a few of you want to see my yell at a girl while she adjusts to life as a living blood bag. I’m looking forward to it because I think it’ll be fun to blog. Plus I’ve always found ranting at fictional characters to be good stress relief and I need that right now. Since Diabolik Lovers was going to be my pick anyway, I’m just going to blog Blood Lad alongside it.

Expect the reviews by this weekend.

 

 

About D

Just another avid anime fan.
This entry was posted in Anime, Knights of Sidonia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Knights of Sidonia S01E12 – Returning to the Ship

  1. Karandi says:

    Oh wow, you’re reactions to Diabolik Lovers are going to be priceless. I am actually looking forward to your thoughts on Blood Lad. It may annoy you or you might find it pretty funny.
    I’m guessing you have no plans to continue on to season 2 of Sidonia. I tried it, but given I felt much the same way you did about season 1, it didn’t really last long. I think I made it 3 or so episodes in (may have been a couple more). But yeah, I was done and moved on.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. weekendotaku says:

    At least this was a functional ending to a season that always planned on having a sequel. They deal with the immediate big threats while leaving enough things open ended to have material for another season. You have to take this kind of ‘finale’ with a bit of leniency knowing that’s the case.

    I liked the fight with Benisuzume but I’m glad she’s done at this point. I was getting tired of hearing her giggle every time she did something. The fist bullet was weird though. The rest of the operation was a bit too Death Star like, and I feel like the whole thing could have been planned a it better. Fire the cannon first, send all the gardes in, and not have any drama about destroying that main core. Ah, but what would it be without the drama?

    I guess the issue is that this was only functional from a story standpoint. These characters didn’t change all that much. Nagate’s speech was silly, but I can appreciate a little of what they’re trying to do with Kunato. He is supposed to be the redeemable villain and it’s going to have to have something to do with Ochiai but all we get this season is those first steps.

    I might yet watch the second season at some point, just for completion’s sake.

    Liked by 2 people

    • D says:

      You’re right. As far as season finales go, this one is good enough. I have no complaints in that regard except the overall lack of impressiveness I’ve had from this show as a whole.

      They feed off the drama. I think they also tried to inject some tension using the time limit given by the anti-planet missile but I felt nothing. Speaking of which, they better have a damn good explanation for why the gauna are so tough that something that can blow up a planet is useless against them.

      The characters do leave much to be desired. I like some of the minor characters who shine in their limited screentime but all of the major players left me cold. Especially Nagate. I still don’t buy the way Kunato was so abruptly affected by what Nagate said – I get that he can be redeemed but they could have tried to execute it better.

      Good luck for when (if?) you watch s2. I hear it’s duller than the first but I can understand watching it for completion’s sake.

      Now we just have to wait for Remy to finish and then plan that collab post.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. raistlin0903 says:

    Que music…..”And now….the end is near….and so I face the final curtain” Oh wait, I guess the end is here 😂😂 Yep, that is it. I can understand on not progressing in towards the second season. It certainly won’t get any better I tell you that. To be fair, there were some things in the second season that I did enjoy, for instance the introduction of a new character that I really found to be a great addition to the cast. Unfortunately, that was not enough to save the rest of the season. Too many things are left unexplored and that has been the problem for Sidonia during it’s entire run. Anyways, what I did enjoy was reading all these posts for the past couple of days. It was nice to be able to provide comments on a series that I have finally watched as well lol 😂😂 Looking forward to your next reviews! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      I think I’ll just pat myself on the back for watching this from start to end. Granted, it did get better after a while but still 😀

      I never even considered watching season 2 to be honest, not after reading your review and Karandi’s take on it. Season 1 is unimpressive enough and an even duller performance seems a waste of time. It was fun to review this though and your input was always greatly appreciated…okay that came out way too formal but you know what I mean. Blood C almost got chosen for the next one but then Blood Lad caught up to Diabolik Lovers in the poll.

      Like

  4. Remy Fool says:

    I finished it last nightttt.

    Sometimes a show can be carried by its story despite featuring mediocre characters. Or strong characters can make up for a weak story. This is not the case here.

    Wasn’t a bad season finale though!

    I’m ready whenever you two are!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

