Attack on Titan Episode 26 – Beast Titan

00

Surprise!

I was always planning to watch this season as it aired but the decision to blog it is largely thanks to a certain someone who kept nagging me to watch seasonal shows. Thanks for that.

Now on to episode 26.

01

You would think that after an epic fight between two titans inside the walls that results in monumental casualties and property damage, they would all get a much deserved break. But nope. Instead, there’s trouble on two fronts – Hange and team finds that there are titans inside Wall Sina. Live titans and the only person who may know of it, Pastor Nick of the Wall Cult, refuses to explain anything even upon pain of death.

03

Elsewhere, there are titans in Wall Rose territory and the other members of the 104th (the group of trainees Eren, Mikasa and Armin belong to) are stuck right in the middle of it without any gear. What’s more, Connie’s and Sasha’s villages are nearby, meaning that their families are in danger from the new titans.

04

It gets worse. Mike goes to take on a group of nine titans, distracting them so that the others can get away. He deals with five and is then royally fucked over by the eponymous Beast Titan – a huge monster covered in fur that can talk quite fluently and is also clearly intelligent – that kills Mike’s horse, takes his gear and leaves him being to be brutally ripped apart and eaten by the remaining normal titans. What a way to go.

02

I spent a good deal of this episode fawning over Hange. That scene with Nick is one of my favorites and it was great to see the animated version of Hange losing their shit in a way that’s markedly different from the usual. What we’ve seen of them until this point is mostly the mad scientist side, the side that sees a titan and runs squealing to its side, all deranged grins and unrestrained babbling. But the discovery of the titan in the wall and Nick’s ensuing silence clearly tips Hange over to a more serious persona, one that’s terrifying to boot. Who just casually dangles a man over a wall while delivering an impassioned speech about duty and sacrifice? Hange fucking Zoe, that’s who.

Is my inner fanboy showing yet?

05

Moving on, I like Mike’s final moments just as much but for wholly different reasons. There’s a stark contrast between the guy who coolly proclaims that they will not lose unless they stop fighting and the terrified wreck of a man that’s torn apart at the end. He’s not weak for it either. Mike’s good – he did take out five titans by himself. But when caught unawares by a monster that’s outside of his widest imaginings and left helpless at the mercy of creeyass giants who’d like nothing more than to gobble him up like a bloody dessert, it’s understandable that his earlier bravado would desert him.

06

Attack on Titan has always made a point of vividly presenting how fear affects humans in the face of an impossibly intimidating enemy and this is yet another example of it. The only character we’ve seen who didn’t become a ball of petrified terror when being eaten is Eren and well, as much as I love the guy, I can admit that he’s a little screwed in the head when it comes to titans.

All in all, this was an excellent first episode for the new season that feels like an organic continuation of the first. I am disappointed by the opening and ending themes though.

 

About D

Just another avid anime fan.
This entry was posted in Anime, Attack on Titan and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Attack on Titan Episode 26 – Beast Titan

  1. raistlin0903 says:

    Another surprise! You know how I always wait for shows to finish, before bingewatching them? Well, this morning I saw on Chrunchyroll that the first episode for season 2 was available, and I just could not resist. This simply is too damn good (if you pardon the language lol), to wait for it to finish it’s run.
    So I will be along for the ride, and wow what a way too kick of this season. I completely agree with Mike’s final moments. I don’t think anyone no matter how brave, would not turn into a complete wreck when faced with such a situation. There were so many cool things in this episode that it is hard to pick favorites. Ofcourse we get a lot of new questions (just who or what the hell is that new Titan), and that is just the way it should be. Can’t wait for episode 2 and of ofcourse your take on it! Great write up of the first episode 😊

    Liked by 2 people

    • D says:

      I’m the same but here we both are, along for the ride. Mike’s death really benefited from being animated. The scene is good in the manga but the author kinda has to state the way humans are slaves to fear. But in the anime, it’s crystal clear from Mike’s expression alone. It was honestly uncomfortable to watch because of raw everything is.

      Fun fact; when those questions are answered, more will pop up 😀 I’m happy you’ll be keeping up with this. It’s always fun to exchange thoughts with you.

      (And hey, I use shits and fucks on a regular basis. Your language can be as colorful as you want.)

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Karandi says:

    It’s going to be fun hearing your episodic thoughts on this.
    Yeah, Eren is the only character who hasn’t lost it while being eaten but screwed in the head is a good general description for him. The death in this episode was probably the moment when I really switched back on to this series. Up until then, while the story was progressing, the show hadn’t really shocked or moved me the way season 1 had. Then we had that scene and suddenly I remembered what was so good about the first season.

    Liked by 3 people

    • D says:

      Likewise.

      I knew that scene was coming (I lost patience a few months ago and read the manga) but I wasn’t prepared for how intense it would be. It was shocking to see Mike, who’s usually so calm and controlled, lose it like that. You’re right though – it’s a good reminder of what’s good about this show.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sam Brewer says:

    Fanboy over this as much as you like – it looks like the new season will be good enough for it! You’re right that this episode is at it’s best when it focuses on Hange and Mike which is awesome really because when you think about these are two characters (particularly Mike) who didn’t get that much screen time in season one and they still managed to be awesome in episode one of season two!

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      I liked this episode better than the first episode premier, probably because I’m more attached to the characters now. Hange was great. Mike was as well but R.I.P, buddy. Your badassery and nose will be missed.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Adam says:

    I agree with you about Hange. I really enjoy those moments of well earned wrath, where someone who’s normally good just goes cold with anger, and the reality is I’m right there with them. “This” is too much, and it is justified, but also a little scary. There’s that certain look in the eyes that just says “Do not mess with me,” and it’s great when stories bide their time and build to that point, instead of rushing it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      I agree. Hange isn’t really someone you expect to see so angry, especially when it’s already shown that they conquered their rage against titans to study them. But then something like this happens and they’re cold and terrifying and it’s amazing. You could really feel their emotions at that point too.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Adam says:

        And I have a lot more respect for it. The same thing happened when watching Kabaneri. Throughout most of the series one of the characters had been calm and controlled, the peacemaker, but near the end of the series things went too far and he went wrath, and it was really satisfying, because it felt like the story earned that, by showing how much it takes to push the character to that point, and getting them there gradually. I really love it when stories “earn” those strong moments.

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        I haven’t seen that yet but I plan to. That scene sounds like something I’ll enjoy. I’m fond of such moments as well. They’re usually deeply satisfying.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Adam says:

        Mmm. It’s striking how similar it is to Attack on Titan, in a satisfying way. I feel like it walks that fine line of “similar, but satisfyingly different”. Even the music sounds like songs that Attack on Titan never used. Granted, the first couple episodes are a sortof obligatory setup that I wasn’t thrilled with, but once it finds itself, the series is pretty fun, though fair warning, it’s one of those titles that ends with “the story keeps going, but this is a good place to pause, and we’re parting ways here.”

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        I’m getting used to anime ending in that manner. It’s still disappointing in some cases but I’m past the point where that would keep me from watching a show.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Adam says:

        And in some it really makes sense. I can’t see I Kino or Mushishi truly ending, tho I do prefer a more complete ending in general

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Akaluv says:

    I felt the episode stayed true to the manga. In the manga, everything happened so fast, and there was no filler, so kudos on that. I do feel bad for Mike, though, that is a crappy way to die. However, I didn’t like how the manga handled his death with the other characters. I’m hoping the anime does a better job of acknowledging that he died.

    Liked by 2 people

    • D says:

      I was wondering how the anime would tackle s2 since it continues directly from where s ended and I’m happy with the way it turned out.

      Good point. It would be nice to see it acknowledged among the senior Corps members, especially since Mike was highly skilled. Then again, they’ll be busy with…things…for a while.

      Liked by 2 people

    • Adam says:

      In some ways I felt that the way Mike died was very human and true. I liked the idea of showing that even someone so noble can be less than dignified when faced with their death.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Akaluv says:

        I think Mike freaked out because the titan was talking to him. I mean, his whole life he learned and saw the titans acted one way. To see one that could talk and think froze him in fear. If you haven’t read the manga, then I won’t spoil it for you, but a more powerful solider handled the beast titan in a better way.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Adam says:

        I have read the manga, though I can’t say I recall that specifically. I think there is merit though in showing a hero who loses his composure under difficult circumstances, particularly when that character rose to the occasion when it mattered, and faltered when it wasn’t that critical that he faltered. 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      • Akaluv says:

        I agree; that scene with Mike felt very human.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Adam says:

        And I really respect Attack on Titan for that part. I feel like it’s very respectable to show characters, both striving to be “good”, and falling short, as things get dire.

        Liked by 2 people

  6. I was sooo happy it came in. It did not diss appointment me

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Where do you watch this? I didn’t know the second season had already started, so I need to start watching…like, now!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. zboudrie says:

    I was pleasantly surprised by this episode. I’ve never been too big on Attack on Titan due to its immense popularity and over-hype, but I really enjoyed this episode. I’m excited for what this season will bring.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      I started it originally without being aware of the hype so I didn’t have expectations beyond ‘good anime’. I did become a fan though. I have a good feeling about this season.

      Like

  9. Rocco B says:

    How can I put this; ahead of the anime viewers but waaaaay waaay behind the manga readers. I wasn’t that hyped for the show. Eren is just useless and Mikasa is over rated. Glad you enjoy it though :D.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      I’m caught up on the manga 😀 I can see why Eren and Mikasa would not be to everyone’s tastes. I like them though and they do get more development as the story progresses.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Adam says:

      This is one of my first experiences with an anime where I’ve already read the manga. In most cases I’ve read the manga after the anime. I think it’ll be interesting to see how I feel about season 2 in light of that. I feel like the really “good” stories are the ones who hold merit even after you’ve seen/read them once or twice.

      Liked by 2 people

  10. GeekyGirlWrites says:

    Season 2 of AOT definitely came in with a big introduction and I loved it! I can’t wait to read more of your episodic posts on this season!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. atthematinee says:

    Loved reading this, have you ever shared your writing on any tv/film websites?

    Samuel

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Remy Fool says:

    What’s interesting to note is that Mike was pretty much home free of he had stayed at the ground cowering in fear. It was only when he pulled out his blades that the Beast Titan was like, “oh, yeah, kill him.” Then again, who’s to say the Beast Titan would let him live (and with no gear he was a sitting duck)?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

