Diabolik Lovers Episode 04 – Daddy Issues and Blasphemy

Daddy Issues and Blasphemy

This keeps getting better and better

Z

Overview:

I think this show may already have lost the ability to offend me because all I felt this episode was a numb kind of amusement at the trainwreck of its characterization. Vague hints of an overreaching plot also shows up but as always, Diabolik Assholes is more interested in tormenting its doormat heroine with the wiles of her crazyass housemates.

This episode focuses on Raito a.k.a the Absolute Asshole but before that, we get to get a little closer to Kanato, the tiniest of the six sickos who always carries around a teddy bear named Teddy – the originality is killing me – which he talks to. Because he’s disturbed. But I think I’m more disturbed by the fact that one of our ‘heroes’ is designed to look and act like a child.

All we get from Yui’s thankfully brief interaction with him is that he’s temperamental, unreasonable, vaguely (for now) sadistic and all round unstable. I know, sounds like a real gem. He also puts her bag up on the roof because she had the audacity to not magically infer his taste in beverages and that leads us to the star of this episode.

Yui retrieves her bag but finds Raito up there, confessing his obsessive love to the air. Was he talking to the fucking moon or some delusion in his head, I don’t know, but he’s displeased to find Yui eavesdropping and resolves to punish her.

This is the third time that one of the guys says he’ll punish Yui. At this point, I wouldn’t be surprised if it turns out that their mansion has a sex dungeon.

A

So anyway, we get the same old formula. Sicko licks her, she says no, he ignores her and voila, biting! Yui manages to shove him off and run away and actually escapes the mansion this time. She reaches a payphone and calls her dad but it’s Raito who picks up the phone. To absolutely no one’s shock but Yui’s, she finds him standing on the opposite street smiling his creepy smile.

This is some real romance here, folks.

She runs, he catches her but is promptly distracted by some politician on the public TV. And instead of using that chance to try and run again, Yui stays there and listens as he says that the politician – Sakamaki Tougo – is their father and the ‘object of his hatred’.

Oh boy, daddy issues. Of course this show has them.

B

Yui looks at the guy and says the name ‘Karl Heinz’ in a trance, fainting immediately afterwards into the arms of the shocked Raito who wonders who she really is. I am not even going to guess.

She wakes up in her room later and ventures out of the conveniently unlocked mansion, going to a chapel where she prays. Raito interrupts her – because he’s a creepy stalker with no life – and proceeds to mock her faith. What follows is a cliché argument we’ve all seen or heard a hundred thousand times before. Raito derides her and talks about the futility of faith while Yui grows a spine and defends it. My personal views on this align with Raito’s which I find ever so slightly appalling. Ah well.

Raito proceeds to get his rape face on and attacks Yui who says he can’t do this in a church. Guess how many shits he gives? She calls to god for help, gets none and is bitten in an altar on top of conveniently arranged roses. The entire scene screams RAPE especially since he’s biting her thigh. His words do little to make us think otherwise.

There’s more shittalk about vampire superiority but Yui says she’ll never submit to him. Good for you, Yui. Keep it up.

C

Alas, it doesn’t last because Raito reveals that she was sent here as a sacrifice by the same church she has so much faith in. The biggest evidence of it is that it was her own father that delivered her there. This little bomb breaks Yui’s will in a snap. I can’t believe she didn’t consider that before but I suppose it’s not easy to doubt someone you love like that.

Elsewhere, we see a guy – not one of the bastard brothers but he does pop up in the OP – walk through one of those secret bookshelf passages to stare at a…woman? Mannequin? Corpse? Mysterious situation is mysterious.

 

Thoughts:

Raito’s my favorite guy so far, except that favorite here means I want to see you die a horrible death the most. Oddly enough, he’s more tolerable in his own episode that he is during his appearances in all prior episodes. I mean, I still want to sew his mouth shut with heated metal thread but I don’t feel the usual laptop-breaking rage when he shows his face.

As for Yui, I know I called her a doormat above but she’s actually quite brave in this episode. Sure, she bent herself backwards for Kanato but she stands up to Raito and even manages to get in a few good lines. I don’t have much hope that this will last but I’ll enjoy it while it does.

The revelation about Yui’s father is a bit confusing. On one hand, it makes sense that he knew exactly what he was sending her to but on the other, the diary entry she reads on her first day indicates that he did love her as his own once upon a time. It’ll probably be elaborated later, along with the vampire daddy situation.

We’re only a quarter of the way through the first season. My suffering is far from over.

About D

Just another avid anime fan.
This entry was posted in Anime, Diabolik Lovers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Diabolik Lovers Episode 04 – Daddy Issues and Blasphemy

  1. Akaluv says:

    The anime gets so much worse! Honestly, that “rape-like” scene pissed me off when I first watched the anime. I don’t see how this anime even falls into romance. To me, it feels like “how a woman shouldn’t act when dealing with asshole guys.” Number 1, don’t be passive and weak.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Even worse? I’m not surprised to hear that but I am dreading it. Yui should have punched them all ages ago, though that might only just get her arm broken.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. raistlin0903 says:

    Yes, it’s here episode 4 😂😂 Ofcourse you know I look forward to these every time. I think it is very brave of you to continue onwards with a series that is so very demanding, and truly feels like a gem (insert sarcasm here..😂😂). Still, as usual I had to laugh a lot at this post especially the remark : ” I want to see you die a horrible death the most ” Classic! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      This show brings out my inner sadist except that its attention is turned not towards Yui but rather her own circle of loving paramours. Seriously, I can’t see this show having a good ending unless all of the guys die in a fire or something. Ah, that’d be so nice… 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. KING says:

    I seriously hate this anime….I mean it has no right to be called romance anime

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Remy Fool says:

    Yui was a bit braver than how she usually is during this episode, but man. This show.
    I felt a similar numbness while watching this episode so I guess we’ve accepted that this show is just going to be bad. Can’t wait to find out how it progresses from here, wahoo!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

