Attack on Titan Episode 28 – Southwestward

Titans surrounding Castle Utgard

This is another calm episode in terms of action but instead we have a few new mysteries and answers to some old ones.

We’re back with Connie, who’s devastated by the state of his village. But the lack of bodies and blood rouse their suspicions and one of the senior Corps members suggests that perhaps they all escaped. Connie naturally latches on to the hope offered but their team leader, Gelgar, is more skeptical. The full stables and ruined buildings make him doubtful about the villagers’ safety. All the same, they set out to continue their search for the breach in Wall Rose. As Connie is about to go, the titan on his home garbles out a Welcome Home that stuns him and reminds him of this mother. But Reiner persuades him to continue with the mission and off they go.

Connie looking in horror at the titan that spoke to him

In the other team headed by Nanaba, Ymir (finally named onscreen!) expresses her concern for Christa and herself as they’re unarmed. But Nanaba says that they must stay to deliver reports. What follows is a conversation between Christa and Ymir where it’s revealed that Christa shouldn’t have gradated in the Top Ten and that she thinks Ymir somehow ceded that spot to her so that Christa could go to the Military Police and be safe. Ymir doesn’t deny it but she does reassure Christa that she’s only there for her own self. How is that reassurance, you ask? Let’s just say that these two are complicated. And I love their relationship.

The freckled demon Ymir and blonde goddess Christa

Elsewhere, Hannes is unsettled because they’re near that Wall and has yet to find a single titan despite the fact that the area should be teeming with them if there’s a breach.

Night falls and the scout teams are still patrolling the wall…in total dark with only torches for illumination and no idea when or how a titan might attack them. That should do a number on anyone’s nerves. Thankfully, they make it without becoming titan-chow and the two teams even end up running into each other. That would be nice if it weren’t for the fact that neither has found the breach in the wall.

Creepyass titans looming in the night

With all these hints, we have to ask. Is there a breach? And if there isn’t, then where are the titans coming from?

Rather than search again, the teams decide to retire for the night in the ruins of an old castle that’s nearby.

Back with Eren, Mikasa, Armin, Hange, Levi and Nick, Hange is fondling a piece of rock that’s revealed to be Annie’s hardened skin from her titan form. For some reason, it didn’t disintegrate when she turned back. Hange earlier compared it with a piece of the Wall and found out that they both have the same composition. In other words, Armin was right last episode. The three walls are made of titans.

Hange fondling a piece of Annie...no, not like that

This gives Hange that idea that if they find the breach in Trost, Eren can harden like Annie and plug it up without resorting to conveniently large boulders. Armin takes it a step further and proposes a night-time excursion to Wall Maria for the same purpose.

That’s all nice but…can Eren harden?

(Yes, I am juvenile.)

No but really, everyone’s assuming that Eren can harden his skin like Annie and the Wall titans but we’ve seen no indication that. The best we’ve got is the odd burning thing he did at Stohess and that’s nowhere close to hardening. But I suppose we’ll see more on that later.

Soon after this, they reach a district and Nick is stunned to see the refugees from Rose. He visibly wavers but maintains that one person can’t divulge the secrets of the Wall Church. But he does give the name of a soldier – a recent cadet in the Survey Corps that the Church was assigned to watch – whose order can break their silence.

It turns out to be…Christa. Eren and his two cohorts describe her. When Mikasa mentions that she’s the girl always hanging out with Ymir, the latter’s name elicits a kinda shocked reaction from Levi and Hange.

The plot thickens!

Back at the castle, titans have surrounded the scouts and the senior officers prepare to take them on.

Nanaba drawing her sword like the handsome bamf she isI just really love this shot of Nanaba

Hange and squad (not Levi though) head towards the very same castle for the purpose of assessing the wall and meeting up with the front lines.

 

Whew that’s it. A lot does happen in this episode even though they all just ride around and talk for the most part. But the next episode should more than make up for that.

Also, I’m enjoying the return of the OST from the first season. It’s so good.

We also get this gem after Sasha delivers a report to Hange and is given a potato in return.

Sasha gazing lovingly at a potatoSasha/Potato is the true OTP

About D

Just another avid anime fan.
This entry was posted in Anime, Attack on Titan and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Attack on Titan Episode 28 – Southwestward

  1. Akaluv says:

    I have yet to watch this episode, but thanks for the recap. Since the first two episodes didn’t impress me, I’ll probably wait until season 2 is over to watch it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. weekendotaku says:

    Great recap, D. I’ll probably catch up on this episode today, but I saw that you added descriptive text!

    Hange fondling a piece of Annie… good stuff 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Thanks 😀 And yep, I did. It’s rare that I use single shots so descriptions of this nature will be rare but I’ve been using them since I read your post.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Adam says:

    So far the overall narrative style of season two seems to match what was established in season 1. A string of somewhat mellow or thoughtful episodes, dropping hints at an increasing rate, all building towards one very satisfying action-packed climax, which resolves some of the questions while replacing them with new, bigger questions. I’m going to predict that we’ll see something very “big” some time within the next 3 episodes, a big fight between Eren and one of the special titans.

    My only regret is that the show doesn’t insert a little strong action into these lesser episodes, but se la vi.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Your guess sounds about right. Next episode should have some interesting stuff happen is memory serves. I’m enjoying seeing these quieter parts though. They seem better animated than in the manga.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Adam says:

        I agree, quieter episodes are nice. They leave room for character development, but I can’t help but think of titles like Escaflowne or Evangelion where there might be one quiet episode followed by an action focused one, or an episode that has half and half. Titan feels a little extreme in its distribution to me. Still, a fun series.
        I also find I prefer anime over manga. particularly when it’s a more action driven series.
        A title like Mushishi or Pet Shop of Horrors on the other hand works rather well as a manga.
        In any case, here’s hoping we get some good Titan vs Titan fighting pretty soon.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Adam says:

        I’m really hoping the Colossal and/or Armored titans appear again before the season finale. Based on the opening I’m guessing that will be how they climax this season, but I’m hoping we get to see more before that.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Karandi says:

    I have to say, I preferred the talking and the tension being built up here to just having more shouting and killing thrown at me (not that I object to the violence of the series, but any shock factor faded a long time ago during season 1). I found this episode to be really interesting and I kind of would like more episodes in this tone (though I guess we are going to get back to flying around and being fed to Titans).

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      I liked this episode a lot as well, more in animated form than in the manga. But you’re right – some of the usual action is following.

      Also, I remember you mentioning that you’d like to see more of the internal conspiracies addressed this season and well, I don’t know how much s2 will cover, but a lot of that is coming up soon.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. raistlin0903 says:

    Just finished the episode, and immediately went to your post 😀 I really liked this episode a lot as well. Even though there hardly is any action, that wasn’t a bad thing at all. I really like how this season focusses on the lesser known characters and give them more exposure. There are now so many questions though….my brain is killing me, but that really is a good thing. I can’t wait to see at least a few answers to these questions, as I am sure they will be pretty surprising. So all I can say is, bring out episode 4. Great post as always, and I really had to laugh about that “yes I am juvenile” remark lol 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Same. I’m particularly interested in Ymir and Christa because they have great storylines and we’re finally seeing a hint of that. But yeah, so many questions. For each answer we get, two more mysteries sprout up. It’s great 😀

      And I regret nothing! Though I actually based that joke on something I read in AoT’s TV Tropes page.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. GeekyGirlWrites says:

    I was glad to see Ymir’s and Christa’s relationship get some development; they totally deserve that screen time.
    Also, I loved hearing the OST from season 1 in some of the scenes, but I want hear more of the newer tracks, especially Mikasa’s character song.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What a spudtacular gift for deliverying that report. I am sure Eren can harden just by looking at Mikasa.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Remy Fool says:

    The return of the OTP! Guess Hange knew of the couple that was meant to be.

    Jeez, Reiner and Big Freckled Guy seemed surprised at the Beast Titan. Hmm

    Ymir and Christiana is so complicated and both so individually mysterious. Seems like Reiner was pretty upset with Ymir for some reason! Well I don’t know why I’m running my gums but yeah…I think I liked this episode the most so far!

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Did you just change Christa’s name? 😛

      Hange knows all! Or maybe it’s reference to the Ilse’s diary OVA. And yup, those two seemed more shocked that the rest. And I hope we see why Reiner was angry at Ymir next episode

      Liked by 1 person

      • Remy Fool says:

        Maybe. It has a nicer flow. I will return to using her real name.

        Hange is too OP!

        Ah I didn’t see the OVA.

        Mmm they definitely did. Maybe we will see why in the near future (or in not as near future but there will probably be some sort of reminder to that scene to jog our memory).

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

