Poll: Another, Psychic Detective Yakumo, Zombie Loan, School Live!, Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress

I hope you’re as happy as I am that Diabolik Lovers’ reign of terror in my life is almost over. Now let’s replace it with some real horror. Y’know, the kind that doesn’t arise from wondering how a show so bad exists.

Come vote for your horror anime of choice.

Another

In 1972, a popular student in Yomiyama North Middle School’s class 3-3 named Misaki passed away during the school year. Since then, the town of Yomiyama has been shrouded by a fearful atmosphere, from the dark secrets hidden deep within.

Twenty-six years later, 15-year-old Kouichi Sakakibara transfers into class 3-3 of Yomiyama North and soon after discovers that a strange, gloomy mood seems to hang over all the students. He also finds himself drawn to the mysterious, eyepatch-wearing student Mei Misaki; however, the rest of the class and the teachers seem to treat her like she doesn’t exist. Paying no heed to warnings from everyone including Mei herself, Kouichi begins to get closer not only to her, but also to the truth behind the gruesome phenomenon plaguing class 3-3 of Yomiyama North.

Another follows Kouichi, Mei, and their classmates as they are pulled into the enigma surrounding a series of inevitable, tragic events—but unraveling the horror of Yomiyama may just cost them the ultimate price.

 

Psychic Detective Yakumo

Haruka Ozawa’s sophomore year is getting seriously scary. One of her friends is possessed, another has committed suicide and Haruka could be the next one to flunk the still-breathing test. Her only way out of this potentially lethal dead end? Yakumo Saito, an enigmatic student born with a mysterious red eye that allows him to see and communicate with the dead. But the deceased don’t always desist and some killers are more than ready to kill again to keep dead men from telling any more tales. That doesn’t stop Haruka’s knack for digging up buried secrets, and there’s even more evidence of bodies being exhumed by both Yakumo’s police contact and an investigative journalist with a newly made corpse in her closet! Can this pair of anything but normal paranormal detectives solve the ultimate dead case files or will they end up in cold storage themselves?

 

Zombie Loan

Do you know when you are going to die? Michiru Kita does, as she has the ability to see the ring of death around people’s necks. The darker the ring, the closer to death someone is. She notices that two boys in her class, Chika Akatsuki and Shito Tachibana, have completely black rings. Seeking to warn them of their impending demise, she stumbles onto their secret: they are already dead, but they are kept alive due to a contract with Zombie-Loan. Of course, nothing comes without a price. The boys must hunt down and destroy zombies, seeking to use Michiru’s “Shinigami Eyes” to help them in their endeavor.

 

School Live!

Yuki Takeya loves her school so much that she does not want to ever leave! Megurigaoka Private High School is a unique and lively place where Yuki enjoys her carefree life as a third-year high school student and member of the School Living Club. The club, consisting of the president Yuuri Wakasa, the athletic Kurumi Ebisuzawa, the mature junior Miki Naoki, the supervising teacher Megumi Sakura, and the club dog Taroumaru, prides itself on making the most of life at school. However, this illusion of endless bliss is just a bubble waiting to be burst because Yuki is unable to perceive what is truly happening around her. In reality, all is not as it seems—the real purpose of the School Living Club is to escape from the shocking and disturbing truth: the girls are in the middle of a zombie apocalypse and have barricaded themselves inside the school as the sole survivors.

 

Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress

The world is in the midst of the industrial revolution when horrific creatures emerge from a mysterious virus, ripping through the flesh of humans to sate their never-ending appetite. The only way to kill these beings, known as “Kabane,” is by destroying their steel-coated hearts. However, if bitten by one of these monsters, the victim is doomed to a fate worse than death, as the fallen rise once more to join the ranks of their fellow undead.

Only the most fortified of civilizations have survived this turmoil, as is the case with the island of Hinomoto, where mankind has created a massive wall to protect themselves from the endless hordes of Kabane. The only way into these giant fortresses is via heavily-armored trains, which are serviced and built by young men such as Ikoma. Having created a deadly weapon that he believes will easily pierce through the hearts of Kabane, Ikoma eagerly awaits the day when he will be able to fight using his new invention. Little does he know, however, that his chance will come much sooner than he expected…

 

As with last time, I’ll blog two of these series. One that you guys pick and another that’s my personal choice. I’ll wait a week or so though so no daily posting for a while.

About D

Just another avid anime fan.
This entry was posted in Poll and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Poll: Another, Psychic Detective Yakumo, Zombie Loan, School Live!, Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress

  1. raistlin0903 says:

    Well, I did not even have to think about this one: Another for sure. Last year I was completely obsessed by this series. So much so that I even bought the book on which this series was based. So I really hope that this one will be the winner. But even if it doesn’t I ofcourse always enjoy reading the posts anyway. Kabaneri is pretty good as well by the way (even though a lot of people find it a poor substitute for Attack on Titan 😊).

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Another is the most popular show in this list, I think, so it’s got a good chance. I’ll watch it for sure either way but if it wins the poll, it’ll just happen quicker.

      And I am borderline obsessed with Attack on Titan so that probably wouldn’t be a problem for me 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • raistlin0903 says:

        Haha, well I quite liked Kabaneri. Yes it certainly has a lot in common with Attack on Titan, but it was enjoyable enough to stand on it’s own. Looking forward to whatever will win and reading the posts for it 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s the only one on the list that I’ve seen, but I have no problem recommending School-Live! It’s a grand little show with some surprisingly subtle things thrown in.

    Liked by 2 people

    • D says:

      I’ve heard good things about this one and while the name alone would make me turn away normally (cute girls being cute is not my preferred fare), the zombie aspect is a definite lure.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, I was the same. If I hadn’t drawn it in the first Crunchyroll of the Dice tournament, I likely wouldn’t have bothered with it for a long, long time, simply because I didn’t know the premise and the art made it look like nothing more than ‘cute girls doing cute things’, which is far from my normal preference too. Definitely a good find though.

        Liked by 2 people

  3. GeekyGirlWrites says:

    Another is a really good horror anime. One way to really enjoy it is if you watch it at night, especially during the last few episodes. After viewing these episodes in the dark, I couldn’t fall asleep that night! 😂

    Liked by 2 people

    • D says:

      I usually watch anime but at night but will be sure to do that for Another. Anime horror’s never really freaked me out before so we’ll see if this does.

      Liked by 1 person

      • GeekyGirlWrites says:

        This was the first horror anime that I watched and it scared the crap out of me because of the jump scares and the eerie music used in the series.

        Liked by 2 people

  4. Karandi says:

    I voted Psychic Detectic Yakamo because almost no one ever covers it and I quite liked it. If that hadn’t been on the list I definitely would have gone Another. Both shows are pretty slow but I found both of them great entertainnment.
    Zombie Loan only just came to my attention through another blog and despite some of comments in the review, I’m actually really curious and am thinking about binge watching it sooner rather than later. No opinion on Kabaneri because I still haven’t been able to watch the thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Another’s leading now and it seems the most popular show on the list. I’m very interested in Yakumo though. Zombie Loan was an impulsive pick and I don’t really know what to expect.

      What about School Live? Have you seen it?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Karandi says:

        I hadn’t actually heard of that one, though was in the process of looking it up on Google when you replied. I’m thinking I’ll have to check it and Zombie Loan out (assuming I can get access) because even if they are dreadful, I love zombie shows. Still School Live looks a bit different so I wouldn’t have a clue what to expect other than those cute characters may just drive me up the wall while waiting to see if there actually are zombies in the story.

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        My sole experience with anime zombies was Highschool of the Dead and I barely lasted 3 episodes. These seem more promising.

        School Live in particular is something I’ve seen praised a lot for how it handles its wildly different elements. Without being spoiled a bit, I probably would never have given it a shot since cute girls club things are not my kinda show either.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Karandi says:

        Okay, you’ve convinced me to see if this is somewhere I can watch it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Karandi says:

        And look at that, it is even available on Crunchyroll in Australia. Okay, looking forward to some time to sit down and binge.

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        Have fun!

        Like

      • Karandi says:

        Checked out Zombie Loan. Got three episodes in. Decided to pass. The main character was just a bit painful to watch.

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        Yikes. That’s a pity. It’s the only one in this poll that hasn’t got even a single vote. I guess it really isn’t popular.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Karandi says:

        I wrote up episode reviews of the three I watched for posting at a later date. The basic gist is: Ep 1 -this isn’t very good but might be interesting. Ep 2- Well, that was dreadful but maybe that declaration in the last 5 minutes signals improvement. Ep 3 – Nope. No improvement. In fact, that got worse.
        More of less why I ended up dropping it.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. prattle says:

    I’m really, really hoping School Live comes out on top of this

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Artemis says:

    I’m all for Another. Not a perfect show by any means, but even as a non-horror fan I found it pretty enjoyable for the most part.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      I can deal with imperfection so long as it’s entertaining. And I do like horror so I’m hoping I’ll like it.

      Like

  7. Adam says:

    My favorite horror anime to date is Higurashi. I hear good things about Another, but I haven’t gotten around to seeing it just yet.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Grimsabr says:

    Another gets my vote for sure but holy crap did i love Gakkougurashi (School Live). If youre thinking of giving it a shot, watch the first episode. That’s all I’m gonna say hehe

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Worry not, I plan to give them both a go eventually. And well, I hear very interesting things about School Live and am eager to check it out.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Book Personality Challenge | meltingpotsandothercalamities

  10. kawaiipaperpandas says:

    Another for sure! I recommend this to my friends all the time. I also love Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress (and for those who say it’s a substitute for AOT must not realize it’s from the same creators haha). I actually prefer it to AOT because of the visuals and art style. The story may be a bit weaker but that is made up for with the music, fight scenes and artwork. Yakumo’s is good but it really isn’t horror, it’s more of a ghost-story type of an anime. I also highly recommend Dusk Maiden of Amnesia or Beautiful Bones: Sakurako’s Investigation. Both great anime!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Dusk Maiden and Beautiful Bones are on my list but let’s be honest, it’s a gigantic monster of a list that I am unlikely to finish in ten lifetimes.

      Another is leading now. I think it’ll win.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Diabolik Lovers More, Blood is not an option? Okay, I guess I’ll vote for Another.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Remy Fool says:

    Mmm it seems likely that you’ll watch Another. It’s gotten me a little scared of umbrellas but I liked the series.

    Can’t wait to see which one you pick for your second series!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

