Diabolik Lovers Episode 10 – Round and Round and Round

Round and Round and Round

In fucking circles

Overview:

You know, I didn’t ask for much. All I wanted was one – one – episode where there was no Yui the Mighty Blood Bank to suffer through and for the first few minutes, it seemed like I’d get my wish.

But nooo.

Cordelia is in Yui’s body, complete with a wardrobe change, at the beginning, flirting happily with Richter who’s actually her brother-in-law but is also very obviously in love with her. Ayato shows up all outraged and Cordelia leaves Richter to explain what’s happening while she rests. Turns out Yui is trying to eject her since the awakening is not yet complete – where was that spine when your body snatcher’s kids were chewing on you, Yui? Richter then tells Ayato how he cut out a dying Cordelia’s heart at her request in order to implant it in a new body. This was before Kanato burned down her original body.

How did her heart get into Yui though? There’s no answer to that but we do learn that Yui’s soul will be obliterated once Cordelia fully awakens.

Ayato finds Cordelia standing at the pier and pushes her off into the water. Cordelia doesn’t care since she’s an excellent swimmer but Yui’s body just sinks and somehow, that shock brings Yui back into her body.

But she doesn’t drown and somehow manages to climb back up. How, you ask? Who the fuck knows. If it’d been Cordelia swimming in a borrowed body, it’d make sense. But instead it’s Yui, back in her body and lacking memories, who manages not to drown despite not knowing how to swim. Logic is a joke in this show.

Anyway, this is followed by Ayato sucking on her like he’s been starving for years. What’s worse, he talks during it, saying very sweet shit how Yui belongs to him, heart, body and soul. Kanato and Ayato show up to take a bite but Yui runs away to her bedroom. She seeks out the silver knife but gets ambushed by Subaru who also makes a snack out of her while praising the quality of her blood.

In the conversation that follows, Yui makes it clear that she doesn’t carry the knife because she’s afraid she might use it.

Oh yeah, that’s a real damn tragedy. Attacking your attackers – how unthinkable!

What. The. Actual. Fuck. were they thinking when they made this character? Seriously, what?

Anyway, this heap of rubbish is capped off by Richter showing up and spewing some bullshit about how it’s Yui’s blood making the brothers crazy and how they will eventually kill each other for it. He tells her to clear her mind and accept that solution that makes itself knows.

To no one’s surprise, the great solution is allowing Cordelia to take over her body and Yui actually goes through with it because of course the safety of the people who’s been nothing but cruel and callous and has repeatedly harassed and molested her for days is more important than keeping her fucking soul in her own body.

Just no.

Hell no.

I can’t deal with this shit.

The salt on the wound is knowing that Yui will inevitably return after vanquishing Cordelia with the power of love or something equally demented.

 

Thoughts:

What thoughts?

This pile of excrement doesn’t deserve thinking. It needs burning.

 

I can confirm that I will most certainly not be watching season 2. I AM DONE.

About D

Just another avid anime fan.
This entry was posted in Anime, Diabolik Lovers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Diabolik Lovers Episode 10 – Round and Round and Round

  1. prattle says:

    “What. The. Actual. Fuck. were they thinking when they made this character? Seriously, what?”

    Nothing D, they were thinking nothing.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. kawaiipaperpandas says:

    Haha I actually like season 2 better! We get more hot vampire dudes! But yes, this anime is definitely just a guilty pleasure anime. It has nothing great to offer except good looking male anime characters. Have you seen Brother’s Conflict, Amnesia or Kamigami no Asobi? They are great reverse harem anime’s! I think they may be more your speed 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    • D says:

      Oh please, gods, don’t give me more hot vampire dudes. I’m done with them, at least in this franchise.

      And actually, those sound like they’d be the opposite of my speed. Reverse harem or harem anime are not my kind of shows because they focus heavily on romance and I kinda hate romance anime. They bore me most of the time.

      The only reason I chose to review Diabolik Lovers is because I’d heard of its reputation and wanted to see how much I’d hate it. The answer is: A lot.

      Liked by 1 person

      • kawaiipaperpandas says:

        Bahaha then I am thoroughly surprised you picked Diabolik Lovers then! It’s definitely not for everyone. I like romance but I steer more towards the sad romance where someone ends up dying usually. What kind of stuff do you like? I just switched over to anime blogging from book blogging so I need to catch up with people and see what everyone is talking about 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        Hmm depends. I do like love stories in written form where I can get into the character’s heads but it feels not as impactful in anime form. I’ve always preferred words over visuals though. I like happy endings and tragic endings and angst with happy conclusion – sorry that’s far from specific but I guess I’m open to anything. I’m also fond of dysfunctional relationships when done well.

        I hope you enjoy you stay in aniblogging! It’s a great community.

        Liked by 1 person

      • kawaiipaperpandas says:

        OMG did you see Kuzu no Honkai (Scum’s Wish) then? Such a great great anime! And yes! I totally understand about the reading aspect. As a person who reads a crap ton of books I can get behind that reasoning. I’ll have to start adding more manga to my collection now. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        Not yet but sure I plan to. It’s the show that I want to see the most from the last season.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Karandi says:

    But, at least you now hate it from personal experience rather than hearsay so you can happily pull it apart for anyone who might be interested. Sorry, I was searching for a silver lining and that was about all I came up with.
    For your readers, we got to enjoy some very entertaining posts. Part of me is kind of sad you won’t try season 2 because that would be pretty funny.

    Liked by 2 people

    • D says:

      I appreciate the positivity. Blogging this was fun enough that I don’t regret watching so that’s a silver lining right there. And yep, it’s better to hate something from experience.

      You know I was determined to make it through both seasons at the beginning. But sitting through ten episodes have made me realize that any further episode reviews will just descend into angry (furious, enraged, incensed…) noise.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. TPAB~ says:

    Yui’s blood is, like, sweet or something like. It’s like a sex thing for the guys. I remember the show going downhill at around the 6th episode, but looking back, this ids honestly a guilty pleasure anime for me. 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      I think it’s have been more fun if they’d actually went through with the sex instead of just implying it’s a sex thing.

      But yeah, this would make a good guilty pleasure anime. Didn’t really work out for me since I can’t see past a burning desire to bash each of the cast’s heads in. Repeatedly.

      Oops that got violent.

      Liked by 1 person

      • TPAB~ says:

        It’s really a VN thing. If you’re playing the game, the abuse is directed at you with the sexy voices almost whispering in your ears. It works, since this sh*t got another season, right? It’s not for everyone though, but it has a niche fanbase..
        Bashing them won’t work. Emo vampires would like that. 😄

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        Yeah, I’ve been told it’s really popular in Japan. And I do see it praised in forums so it’s definitely got its own fans.

        …good point. How about a silver knife?

        Liked by 1 person

  5. raistlin0903 says:

    Awww….no season 2. Really, that surprises me. After all the wonderful reviews you gave this series I am pretty much wondering why not watch season 2? Everything you wrote about this series was so very positive. Lol….good for you! 😂 I enjoyed reading these posts immensely, but I can completely understand that you want to stop with this ” pile of excrement” 😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      I know, but sometimes we just need to let the things we love go before we’re tempted to rip it into tiny pieces.

      …that got dark again.

      But yeah. I wanted to go through s2 as well honestly but I can’t, man. I’m just so done. On the bright side, blogging this and reading the fun comments was definitely worth it.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Remy Fool says:

    I found the whole “wtf this girl can’t swim” crap Cordelia had to deal with to be hilarious. Doesn’t explain why she was able to grab onto the pier, though, like you said.

    Did you know the phrase that popped into my head as I watched this show? Stockholm Syndrome. Why else would Yui even care for these assholes? So dumb.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Yeah, that expression on her face was priceless.

      You know, I did consider Stockholm Syndrome. And that would actually make sense and add a good layer to the story…if it’d been any other story. Here, it comes across less like captor bonding and more like shoddy writing. Yui is completely static throughout.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Last Week Today: Week End Recap- May 14th to May 20th – Nice Job Breaking It, Hero

Leave a Reply

