Diabolik Lovers Episodes 11&12 – All The Drama

All The Drama

Half entertaining, half exasperating

Overview:

I’m reviewing episodes 11 and 12 together because the latter one doesn’t have much happening in it and isn’t worth a separate post.

Cordelia is once again in Yui’s body and happily flirting with Richter when Reiji comes across them. He’s not pleased and what follows is him and Cordelia trying to piss each other off with sensitive information which somehow leads to Cordelia propositioning him. While Richter watches.

I suppose we’ve already established that he likes to watch.

Anyway, Reiji turns her down, calling her a ‘corrupt woman of loose morals’. I don’t think he’s got room to talk but he does get slapped for it which is very satisfying after episodes after episode of the boys getting away with their shit. Unfortunately, Cordelia is as much of a jerk as the rest so it’s not like I want to root for her either.

The rest of the boys except Ayato then show up, all of them displeased by this new turn of events. Subaru even tries to attack Richter but is easily rebuffed. Cordelia gives Richter the silver knife and tells him to kill them all but surprisingly, he turns on her immediately. I admit that I didn’t see that coming – he always seemed smitten with her. But yeah, he just says Cordelia is useless to him as she is and that he only needs her heart (which is in Yui) to depose his brother and become head of the family.

Yeah, that came outta nowhere.

Alas, his attack on Cordelia is interrupted by Ayato who’s concerned about Yui, not Cordelia. Well, concern is the wrong word. Creepily possessive is more accurate. He fails epically though – Richter kicks his ass and then stabs him through. This somehow jolts Yui out of the possession and she then proceeds to take the silver knife and stab herself-

Sorry, my mind just blanked out at this part.

Yeah, she essentially kills herself so that no one else will be hurt that way.

Well wow, what a fucking saint.

But does she even stay dead? Of course not. We’ll get to that in a bit.

After Yui collapses, Ayato stabs Richter. He goes to Yui but Cordelia takes over long enough to say that the awakening will soon be complete. Y’know, I thought it had been complete last time…and also the time before that…but no because plot reasons.

The injured Richter manages to limp his way to the secret room where Cordelia’s dress – which is called dangerous but who knows why or how – is being kept. Raito follows him and after a cryptic conversation where we learn shit, he burns down both Richter and the dress. Of course, dear Richy seems supremely unbothered while burning alive and Raito leaves before confirming his death so it’s entirely likely that he survived.

Meanwhile, the rest of the guys are gathered around a dying Yui. She’s the first vessel to ‘endure’ the awakening process for so long and once she dies, Cordelia really will be back. But Reiji conveniently has a compound lying around that can kill her for good so long as they can add a piece of her to it. And Kanato conveniently has something of her – hair? blood? – hidden inside his creepy teddy bear so that’s a problem solved right there.

They give the completed product to her and she wakes up, confused and thirsty, while her faithful sextet all wait on her hand and foot.

Yeah, no. But I still got the impression that that scene was meant to be…sweet. Or at least nice.

Yeah, no.

But hey, they remedy any and all decency the vampires may have shown for those few final minutes by including an after-credits sequence that consists of nothing but each of the sick bastards looking at the screen and explicitly describing how they’d like to torment you.

Quality shit.

 

Thoughts:

It’s over. I’m free.

Dobby is freeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

As the above section has made obvious, I am by no means pleased by this episode but it was marginally less painful that most of the previous episodes because there was a blissful lack of Yui/Bloodsucker interaction. Cordelia is also a terrible character but at least she had a personality even if it was the kind that made me want to burn her alongside her sons and step-sons.

The ending leaves a lot of questions unanswered too but clearly, the show doesn’t care about them so why should I?

All I know is that it’s over, I made it through the season, entertained you guys with my ranting and survived with my sanity intact. Those are some worthy accomplishments, yes?

I’m not saying this is a worthless anime. No story is worthless, not really. But this was very much not my thing. I actually like vampire stories and interspecies romance but Diabolik Lovers did absolutely nothing for me. I hate every single one of the characters, the dialogue is ridiculous, the drama is contrived and everything just made me roll my eyes or scream to the void.

So yeah, not a show for me.

But oddly enough, I’m glad I saw it because it was one hell of an experience.

There will be a full review at some point. Brace yourselves.


 

Another won the horror anime poll. As for the second series, I was torn between Psychic Detective Yakumo and School Live! but in the end, School Live! proved too tempting to resist.

I won’t start posting them until next week though.

About D

Just another avid anime fan.
This entry was posted in Anime, Diabolik Lovers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Diabolik Lovers Episodes 11&12 – All The Drama

  1. Keiko says:

    You’re finally done with this crap! I pretty much agree with you about these last two episodes. I’d love ro see Cordelia and all her sons and step sons burn and die!
    Any chance of you watching season 2? 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. raistlin0903 says:

    So, just to do a recap: this series is well worth the watch, you found it to be the best animeseries you have ever seen, and you can’t wait to start on the severe season for this one. I am correct right? 😂😂😂
    Lol….well even though this series was an utter piece of crap, the reviews for it were certainly hilarious and I have enjoyed reading them a lot. In that regard it’s sad that it’s finally over, but I am glad that you are finally freeeeeeeeeeeee 😂😂😂 Can’t wait to see what’s coming up next 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Yes indeed. In fact, I fear that no other anime shall ever compare. I am distraught 😐

      As I’ve said, you and the rest enjoying these reviews was the best part of watching this crap. So thanks for that!

      Next up are two horror shows set in schools. Should be fun…makes me glad I’m done with school for a while.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Remy Fool says:

    We did ittttt

    So bizarre that they thought making this into an anime was a good idea. Even more bizarre is how they thought a second season would fare better. But now you’re free!

    I’ve already watched Another but I will watch School Live! with you. Should have reviewed the show earlier, I’m sure. Glad you’re done with school now, too, yay!

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      All hail us! Did you ever play that drinking game again?

      It does seem to have its fans. I saw a lot of people defend it pretty fiercely at a forum. But it’s safe to say that we are very much not the targets of this…masterpiece.

      Gotcha! School Live seems to have a girls club vibe to it so it’s right up your alley too…except with some zombies to spice it up.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Remy Fool says:

        Woooo!
        I ended up not doing it because I don’t have any booze in the house right now. Probably gonna change that later today.

        Wow, so they actually exist. Um, jeez. I need to look into this because this is amazing.

        Yeaaah haha I watched like 2 episodes when it as simulcast and then I think things in my life got busy. Should be a fun watch!

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        There’s better use for booze than wasting it on this show anyway.

        Good luck. Don’t be too scarred in the aftermath.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Karandi says:

    Freedom.
    Shame Psychic Detective Yakumo didn’t win but it will be fun seeing your thoughts on Another. And as I haven’t seen School Live I’ll be interested in what it is like. Looking forward to next week then.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I wish I was a vampire sometimes. They are so hot in anime haha

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This was the reaction when I watched Yui kill herself:
    (Yui stabs herself)
    Me- Are you freakin serious! Do you know how much I had to endure while you kept acting like a brainless person!
    (Ayato stabs Richter)
    Me- He had to die
    (Ayato shakes Yui and calls her name)
    Me with a detective suit on- The reports sadly indicate that Yui just stabbed herself in the heart. So I conclude that she is dead. SO stop shaking her and making me cringe.

    I still can’t believe I still watched it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Neither can I. I doubt I would have finished season 1 if I weren’t blogging it.

      But yeah, the stab scene and revival was the stupidest thing this show did and it did a lot of stupid things.

      Like

Leave a Reply

