Gakkougurashi! Episode 2 – Memories

Overview:

This second episode focuses mostly on Kurumi, the shovel-carrying girl with purple hair, and we finally see the girls’ situation from a perspective that’s not Yuki’s normalized version.

The opening scene is of Kurumi remembering her past with a senpai she had a crush on and whom she killed when he became a zombie and attacked her. He may have been the first victim of her beloved shovel.

Then there’s Yuki, waking up late and rushing to breakfast before going with Sakura-sensei/Megu-nee for a one-on-one lesson. Once she’s gone, Miki tells everyone of how she found Yuki talking alone in the classroom again. She does suggest that they do something about Yuki’s mentality but Rii-san (still don’t know her full name) vetoes it, saying that it’s better for Yuki to live a carefree life in their situation. Kurumi leaves for patrol while Rii-san and Miki discuss whether the zombie infestation is a nationwide issue and whether help will arrive. They seem hopeful that it’s not worldwide.

On patrol, Kurumi comes across a lone female zombie while checking the barricades. She climbs over the barricade to kill it and is about to when she finds that it used to be her friend. She hesitates but when the zombie starts reaching for her, she bashes it anyway. Rii-san berates her for going out alone though.

Megu-nee devises the idea of pitching their supply run as a ‘test of courage’ to Yuki. It works and the head out to the school store and library. It seems that the zombies don’t come out at night. They theorize that they may return to their homes out of some kind of buried memory. Now I’m imagining zombies going back and forth from home to work and school every morning and evening as per their human schedules. Holy shit, that’s a creepy image.

The girls’ run to the school store goes well even though Yuki gives them all a scare when she gets excited over some really big balloons.

No, that’s not a euphemism. Actual, literal balloons.

The library visit doesn’t go as easily. The dog is hesitant to go inside (guessed then that there was a zombie inside) so Miki and Kurumi stay outside with him. The other three go inside but Yuki runs off to look for manga. Just then, Rii-san spots the zombie. Maybe it’s the zombie of a librarian without a life or something.

Megu-nee finds Yuki just in time for the zombie to come their way. She manages to get Yuki quiet and hide with her while it shuffles past them. Thank heaven the zombies in this show seem to have dulled senses and no brains.

Rii-san reaches the others and appraises them of the situation. They make enough of a racket to draw the zombie’s attention and Kurumi kills it. They all find Yuki who apologizes for running away. She’s still unaware though. She thought the zombie was a ghost and part of their test.

Anyway, they all reach the safe space in one piece. That night, Kurumi dreams of killing her boyfriend and wakes up in terror but is comforted by the sight of Yuki beside her.

 

Thoughts:

Gakkougurashi’s blend of cuteness and horror continues, with the horror having a bit more presence in this episode than in the last. This episode is not as focused on Yuki so we get to see a bit about how the others girls are dealing with their situation.

I remain very impressed. A lot of the appeal comes from the discrepancy between the super-moe art style and the actual subject matter. But I guess that is the point. It’s jarring, yes, but in a good way. Even as the girls are going about their daily routine, I keep wondering how things are outside and what’s going to go wrong. I also wonder how many of them will survive all twelve episodes because we all know someone has to die in zombie horror.

My one and only irritant with this show is Yuki, not because of her screwed up headspace as you might think but because of her voice.

Yes, her voice.

It’s this cutesy, high-pitched, cutesy and oh did I say cutesy thing that reminds me of babytalk. I swear my eardrums weep every time she opens her mouth.

On the other hand, her screwed up headspace is the only reason she’s interesting. I’m curious to know how and when her mind immersed her in this pretty delusion and also what will happen if/when it wears off. Meanwhile, all the other girls seem to be kinda grounded by Yuki’s innocence. Maybe the need to protect her while keeping her unaware helps them deals with their mess of a situation better. At least that’s the vibe I got from this episode. We’ll see.

 

About D

Just another avid anime fan.
This entry was posted in Anime, Gakkougurashi and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Gakkougurashi! Episode 2 – Memories

  1. raistlin0903 says:

    Okay, now I am really starting to get mad here. I had written a very big comment to your post, and it simply disappeared. What the “bleep” is going on today?
    Aargh…well…I will just start over again, but wow this is annoying to say the least 😦 I really agree with Yuki’s voice…I think if I had to choose she would definitely be the first one that should be killed (Yes that really would make for a very cool plot twist indeed 😂) Her voice is seriously grating on my nerves though. Besides that THIS SHOW IS FREAKING AWESOME !. I love the contrast between the cute and the dark. The zombies are absolutely chilling. That darkness that seems to hover about them is creeping me out for real. The library scene was really tense….and I felt the hairs on the back of my neck rising when the zombie kept inching closer and closer. (It does show and prove that dogs can be useful too I guess lol 😂).
    Back on topic, this series is fast becoming my most surprising show that I have seen this entire year. I do agree though: what on Earth is going on with Yuki. She seems to be living in a world of her own for some reason. But then again she is aware of things, as she did see the zombie in the end and got freaked out by it.
    This series almost (almost mind you), makes me regret that I’m heading to Animecon this weekend so I can’t continue watching lol. That said..I have two more days off after that, so I can manage to catch up again. Looking forward to the next episode and ofcourse your next post for it (and now fingers crossed this does not magically disappear again 😊).

    Liked by 2 people

    • D says:

      Your comment got eaten? That sucks. It’s happened to me on other sites and it’s always frustrating, especially when it’s a long one. Get your shit together, wordpress.

      Yuki seems to have repressed the reality of her situation. It’s probably her mind trying to protect itself like with the case of repressed memories. Don’t take my word for it though. I’m no psychiatrist. I’m not too fond of her but the rest of the characters and also the setting more than make up for it.

      The darkness thing surrounding the zombies really is a great effect. Creepy but hey, that’s the point. The library situation is exactly the kind of thing that makes horror sweet torture for me and this didn’t disappoint in that regard. All hail Megu-nee.

      Liked by 1 person

      • raistlin0903 says:

        Yeah, WordPress is seriously bugging me yesterday. Hopefully today will better. Could not agree with you more, love the creepyness and atmosphere for this series. Can’t wait to continue watching this. It also reminds me a lot of my favorite live action series The Walking Dead 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Karandi says:

    Yeah, finding Yuki a little overly cutesy. I couldn’t resist after your episode 1 write up, I had to start this show. I’m going to post my reviews toward the end of my time away though I’m already about half-way through this show now.
    I found Kurumi to be a fun character in this episode though I can’t help but wonder why the other girls don’t at least carry something they could use as a weapon. I know they aren’t gung-ho zombie fighters but at least something to delay getting bitten would be sensible.

    Liked by 2 people

    • D says:

      I’m looking forward to those! And yeah, I wondered that too. Since we’ve seen that they do sometimes go out of their safe space, it would make sense for them to carry something with them. As it is, if Kurumi gets eaten or separated, they’ll be defenseless.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yeah, I felt the save with Yuki’s voice for a while. I got used to it eventually though. Kurumi just ended up being known as Shovel Girl for me. She remains entertaining throughout.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      I’m not sure if I’ll ever get used to it. I like cuteness just fine but Yuki takes it a bit too far. But I guess I gotta deal since there’s no way around it.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. cainslatrani says:

    This show. Holy crap, this show.

    Okay, so, there’s gonna be a few times when you may be tempted to drop the series. Don’t. Stay with it. It is one of the most rewarding watches you’ll have by the end. It’s simply a work of genius in the zombie fiction field.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      I solemnly swear that I’ll see this through to the end.

      Really though, I’m way too curious about what’s going on and how it will end to give up on this. Sure, the club antics aren’t the most engaging but the rest of it makes up for it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • cainslatrani says:

        More than, by the time it’s done. The club antics, for all they feel and seem pointless, really aren’t, either.

        I love zombie fiction. Like, it’s one of my favorite things., even when it’s terrible, or cheesy. This show, it really did do something amazing, unique, and new with the genre, that I’d never seen before.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Grimsabr says:

    YAY episode 2! I totally agree about Yukis voice but hopefully you’ll manage to just ignore it in the end :D. Kurumi is awesome, i love her! I cant wait for you to continue watching. The show will throw some curve balls at you that you may not see coming, and even if you do, it should excite you!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Remy Fool says:

    I gotta admit, Yuki’s voice also bothered me. But the rest of the series is progressing swimmingly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

