Another Episode 03 – Bone Work

Overview:

Bone Work picks up where the last episode left off, with Mei removing her eye-patch. I was half-expecting some dark hollow but instead there’s an artificial green eye that she says comes from a doll. She also says that it lets her see things that shouldn’t be seen, thus why she keeps it hidden. Then they have a conversation about the hollowness of dolls that serve to make the damn things even creepier which this show doesn’t actually need by this point.

The two of them head upstairs at Mei’s prompting and Kouichi outright asks her about the weird vibes he’s been getting from the class and also about the girl who died in the hospital. Mei doesn’t say much about the latter but she does tell him the story of Misaki from 26 years ago. It’s the same story we heard in episode 1, about the girl who dies and the class that refuses to accept her death, but this time, the ending is also revealed. On graduation day, they take a group photo and the dead girl shows up in it, pale as death but smiling with the rest. Cute.

The next day at school, Kouichi and classmates have a conversation about high school. Akazawa says she’ll join the same one as Kouichi in Tokyo but a male classmate seems unhappy about that for some reason. Later that day, it’s raining again and Kouichi doesn’t have an umbrella so Yukari offers to walk him home. She’s all sweet until he asks her about Mei at which point she starts shaking and tells him never to say that name in class 3. Blondie joins them at this point and Kouichi asks him about the legend from 26 years ago.

The teacher also shows up and they all treat Kouichi’s knowledge of the ‘first year’ as some major deal that should be treated delicately. But none of them provide any details. Kouichi tries to get information from his aunt as well but that also falls flat since she just tells him he’ll know when the time is right. He does find out that his mother was in class 3 as well.

We also get a glimpse of a newspaper article which talks about the sudden explosion of murders in town.

In school, Kouichi sees Mei on the roof while walking with Kazami, the class rep boy, and runs off to meet her. Kazami freaks out and gets Blondie to call Kouichi before he can get to Mei. Blondie sounds inordinately panicked and insists that Kouichi don’t bother with things that don’t exist. He also promises to tell him the rest of the Misaki story next month.

In the end, it seems like Kouichi doesn’t get to talk to Mei since she disappears just like she did in the doll shop. The nurse calls again to tell him that the dead girl is Fujioka Misaki so I was right about it not being Mei. Mei does reveal later that Misaki was her cousin whom she was close to.

Next day, it’s exam time. Kouichi finishes earlier than the rest and joins Mei outside. He asks her about the rest of the story. Mei guesses that no one else has told him and adds that it’s understandable. He also tries to ask why the class treats her weirdly but she just casually reveals that she doesn’t exist to them. Callback to Blondie’s words here.

Apparently, none of them can see her. Only Kouichi can.

Before he can let the shock of that sink in, Yukari rushes out of their class. She grabs her umbrella and runs towards Kouichi and Mei only to stare at them (him?) in horror before running in the opposite direction.

But don’t run down stairs, kids, because sweet little Yukari trips on her way down, loses hold of her umbrella and gets fucking speared through the neck by its tip holy shit that actually happened.

 

Thoughts:

Some of you told me that shit would hit the fan in this episode.

But I wasn’t expecting to see a gruesome death out of the blue. Wow. That really happened. This is why I carry those small, foldable umbrellas when I actually bother to carry any. Less chance of getting impaled while tripping.

No, really, I knew what was coming the moment she lost her footing and the camera zoned in on the umbrella tip but the explicitness of the scene still caught me off guard. In a good way though. I literally just mumbled ‘holy shit’ until the ending theme was over. I guess Another’s starting to amp up the horror. I’m not complaining but I hope it maintains its lovely atmosphere in the process.

In other news, Mei continues to be shrouded in mystery. Can she really not be seen by others? There’s plenty of evidence to support this such as the old lady in the doll shop telling Kouichi that there are no other customers before he runs into Mei. It’s also reasonable to assume that she is connected to the Misaki legend from 26 years ago.

Now the big questions – why is everyone so terrified of her name and what the actual hell is going on with class 3 and is Yukari’s death really an accident?

I can’t wait to find out.

By the way, this has no bearing on the plot, but I love Mei’s voice.

About D

Just another avid anime fan.
This entry was posted in Anime, Another and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Another Episode 03 – Bone Work

  1. Miyuki says:

    I can’t wait till you watch the last few episodes :3

    Liked by 1 person

  2. raistlin0903 says:

    Haha…yup…and it’s all going to go downhill from here (no worries, in a good way 😀). Oh I loved this episode. My response to this was pretty much the same, you knew it was going to happen, but in the end I was still shocked by it anyway. Mei is great by the way, she is by far my favorite character in this anime. And no worries about the atmosphere going away…it’s going to stay. Oh…and you haven’t seen anything yet! 😂
    Seriously though, reading this takes me back to the first time I saw this series. I couldn’t stop watching at one point, it was so creepy and great…I just had to know how it would end. You do a great job in reliving the episodes. Looking forward to the next one 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      I like the good kind of downhill! I was honestly not expecting that. Sure, I imagined bodies would start dropping at some point but that was so abrupt and all the more effective for it. I love it 😀

      And I’m glad to hear that. You know I’d binge this in a heartbeat if I weren’t reviewing it by episode. Patience…

      Btw, I watched two episodes of Steins Gate and so far, I’m interested in the plot but want to starngle each and every one of the characters except maybe the redhead.

      Liked by 1 person

      • raistlin0903 says:

        Haha, yeah I know. But patience is definitely the way to go as well with this series (the second time I watched this, yes I watched it twice, I did it moe slowly).
        Haha…oh yes…I know exactly what you mean about Steins Gate. It is a series that after all this time I still don’t know what to do with. I promised Weekend Otaku to give it a second watch, which I will do in October. But yeah…the characters are seriously strangleworthy. But then again..so is the entire story…very strange indeed…it does get better at some point…around episode 12 or 13 if I recall correctly 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        …I’ll spend that long contemplaing murder? Yikes. But so far, the story really is engaging so I guess I can deal. Hope your eventual rewatch will go well!

        Like

  3. Karandi says:

    This episode really does kind of make you sit up and take notice. Creepy atmosphere aside, very little happens until this point and it is all just questions about whether anything is going on or not. However, girl impaled on own umbrella kind of gets you seriously alert.
    Hope you enjoy the follow up.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      It does. I think I literally perked up like an overeager puppy at that point. It just came out of nowhere. One moment, it was aother of Mei’s odd conversations with Kouichi and then bam, deadly umbrella alert.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Karandi says:

        And yet you would have been waiting for something to happen because the show just keeps you on the edge, waiting for something. It really succeeds at creating that atmosphere.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. kawaiipaperpandas says:

    My favorite death scenes are towards the end! But yes, everything get’s explained once you get through the show. It will all make sense my pretty…tehehe 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. GeekyGirlWrites says:

    Things start to go downhill after this episode and it gets CRAZY!!! Just warning you, there are a ton of jump scares as you get further into the series. There was one that literally made me scream out loud.
    Great review! I can’t wait to read your thoughts on the next episodes. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Remy Fool says:

    And now you know why I’m not too fond of umbrellas wahaha.

    Mmm everyone is basically saying what I would like to say. But Mei’s voice is definitely very pleasant on the ears, I agree. Seems like you’re enjoying Another so far!

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Use the harmless blunt ones that are less likely to kill you dead. I do. Jfc.

      It is! And I am! It’s been a while since I’ve seen some nice horror and it’s funnn.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

