Gakkougurashi! Episode 4 – Outing

Overview:

This episode is about how Miki survived the zombies before she joined the rest of the girls. It starts with Yuki drawing a graduation album and Miki helping out. One of her pictures show another girl and from there, it’s on to Miki’s story.

An early episode told us something about Miki holding out on her own in a mall. On the day of the outbreak, her class lets out early and so she and her friend, Kei, head to the mall to have some fun. And sure, it’s fun until the screaming starts. This is also where they meet the dog, Taroumaru who’s an old lady’s pet. Speaking of him, I wonder if these zombies are interested in animals.

Anyway, the mall descends into panic as it’s announced that some accident happened. The escalators aren’t working so Kei and Miki got to the elevator which opens to reveal a lot of bloodied dead bodies. They run and hide in a dressing room where Taroumaru joins them. They peek out to see his owner happily gnawing on someone. Guess he’s theirs now.

The girls somehow manage to barricade themselves with plenty of food and water. At first, Kei is optimistic that help will arrive from the outside but as days pass and nothing of the sort happens, she starts to want to go outside. Miki is reluctant and content to stay where they are. Things become strained between the two. In the end, Kei becomes tired of just surviving by staying put. She leaves, promising to bring help. Taroumaru stays behind with Miki but is clearly unhappy to see Kei go. When his barks at her departure, a tense Miki ends up yelling at him to shut up.

Back at the school club, Yuki proposes an outing. Yuuri and Kurumi try to dissuade her by saying that it’s against the rules of the school living club but Yuki tries to dress it up as a school function and gets approval from Megumi. The other two also agree since they’re in need of stuff they can only get outside. So they plan a trip outside. Megumi has a car but hasn’t driven it for so long and is worried. Kurumi volunteers to drive though.

Kurumi goes first to get the car, smashing her way through some zombies like a shonen action hero. It’s close at some points but she manages well, even finding Megumi’s car via the keychain used. Unfortunately, her driving skills come from playing games rather than actual experience but they seem like they’ll make it outside in one piece.

Meanwhile, Miki wakes up in the mall to find that Taroumaru has escaped through the glass hatch on the door.

 

Thoughts:

[Warning: Speculation that might stray into spoiler territory]

I think the next episode will show us how Miki meets the rest. She probably tries to find Taroumaru and ends up running into the others, probably while she’s surrounded by zombies and about to die.

Just a guess. Maybe the meeting will be way more peaceful.

There’s two things I want to address in the wake of this episode. One is Taroumaru’s attitude to Miki. In the present times, he ignores her and seems to have an active diastase for her that obviously distresses her. But while Kei was with them, we see Taroumaru being as affectionate to Miki as he is with others. So it’s likely that Miki yelling at him after Kei left is what made him dislike her. Dogs can be sensitive like that. One of my girls can give the cold shoulder like a pro.

The other thing is something that Karandi brought up in a comment on the last episode. She wondered if Megumi was another of Yuki’s delusions because there’s something off about their interactions. So I went back and skimmed episodes 2 and 3 and also kept a close watch on this one.

And yeah, Karandi is very likely onto something. We never see anyone other than Yuki directly engage Megumi. Yeah, the other girls talk to her but only after Yuki says something about Megu-nee this or Megu-nee that. Even in the library when Megumi kept Yuki safe, the others flock to Yuki first and only once she mentions Megumi do they thank her. And in this episode, we never see Megumi get inside the car or even be anywhere near it but when Yuki and Yuuri get inside, she’s also there. Also, come on, there’s no reason for a girl who’s experience is confined to video games to drive the car if someone with a license and practice is with them, no matter how rusty that person is.

It’s also clear that Megumi was alive and well when the outbreak occurred so did she die afterward? Is that what caused Yuki’s delusions in the first place? That would be one hell of a twist.

Btw, if you know the definite answer to this, don’t tell me.

About D

Just another avid anime fan.
This entry was posted in Anime, Gakkougurashi and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Gakkougurashi! Episode 4 – Outing

  1. raistlin0903 says:

    Is it just me, or are the zombies in this anime amongst the scariest zombies ever to grace the screen? They are just downright creepy, but ofcourse in a very good way.
    I really enjoyed this episode. That scene where the elevator opened up was great. In a way you knew something was going to happen, but still it was great, even though it did only show a pool of blood, it was effective enough.
    This episode also raised an interesting question. What would you do in this situation. Stay holed up in a room where it’s safe, or venture outside. I honestly don’t know what I would do, but in the end I think I would head outside as well. I would go completely mad if I were to stay in a single spot for the rest of my life.
    As for the theory of Karandi…seriously I had not even noticed, but that really would be very interesting if that were true. So far this series has been an absolute delight. I still love the great contrast between the dark, and then at times happy go lucky atmosphere. I don’t think I have ever seen something like this, at least not this well done. Well…oneards to episode 5! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      They sure as hell beat out Highschool of the Dead’s zombies. I really like the dark aura-glowing eyes thing they sometimes do.

      I was expecting zombies to pop out like in that Resident Evil movie but then Miki and Kei would be dead and that’s be sad. But yeah, it was still effective despite being a subtle shot.

      I honestly don’t know. On one hand, I don’t go stir crazy easily provided that I’m sufficiently entertained but if I’m bored and stuck somewhere…yeah, no, I don’t see that lasting. Even facing zombies would be a better alternative though the thought of being eaten like that is seriously unsettling.

      I’m not sure I’d have noticed without her nudging either. But yeah, it’d be a cool idea. Sad af but cool. I just finished episode 5 and it’s amazing. Have fun!

      Liked by 1 person

      • raistlin0903 says:

        Yes, I totally agree. Those dark aura eyes are the things that creep me out the most of them. I would go so far as to saying they would even give the zombies from the Walking Dead a run for their money.
        I don’t go stir crazy very easy either….but to be cooped up in one place for so long…I would go completely insane (well at least more insane than I already am 😂).
        Hmm…I just planned on putting in the first disc of Corpse Princess (seriously who comes up with such a name), but that because of a comment like that, I now have to watch episode 5 right? 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        I read one of Cain’s posts on Corpse Princess. It sounds like a great show. Good luck with it.

        But yes, episode 5 will be worth it 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • raistlin0903 says:

        I have just seen it….and all I can say is: OMG..this series is getting better and better 😀😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • D says:

        Right? I can’t beleive this show isn’t more talked about.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Karandi says:

    I really enjoyed this episode and it definitely made my suspicions about the teacher pretty solid given the car and who is driving. I also like that we’re getting some backstory on Miki and seeing how they met up. The part I was less thrilled about was Kurumi’s descent into standard zombie fighting mode. I kind of liked this show because they didn’t seem all gung-ho about just mindlessly bashing their way through hordes.
    All in all, this was a really fun episode.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Yup and then there’s that odd memory of Yuki in the next episode (which I assume you’ve watched since you said you were going to finish the show soon?).

      I was surprised too when Kurumi took them all down kinda like one of those sword slash shots. It’s a little hard to believe.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Remy Fool says:

    I think being in a mall is a pretty horrendous place to be stuck in when a zombie breakout happens. A school isn’t much better. Phew.

    I do appreciate the flashback story but the tension is partially ruined since we know Miki will be fine. That’s the problem of in-media-res huh?

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Yup. Both are really open places with a lot of people/potential enemies. Kudos to the girls for surviving.

      Yeah, true. I was interested in Kei though. I half-thought that she might end up a zombie. It’s still a possibility.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

