Poll: Ore Monogatari!!, Sekaiichi Hatsukoi, Strawberry Panic

We’re halfway through both Gakkougurashi and Another. So here’s the next poll, a little earlier than usual because I want to leave it up for longer. And the genre this time is…

Romance.

Yeah.

This is me, biting the bullet. I’ve been putting off the Romance category for so damn long but I figured I should stop being a chicken and get on with it. So here we have three 2-cour shows, one each with m/f, f/f and m/m pairs. Which one I watch is up to you. This time around, I’ll only blog one show because it’s way beyond me to simultaneously watch and review two romance anime.

Strawberry Panic

Aoi Nagisa transfers to one of the three affiliated all-girl Catholic schools on Astraea Hill, St. Miator’s Girls’ Academy. There, she discovers a community of fellow students entwined in an intricate hierarchy, in which two Etoiles represent the three schools. In order to fit in, Nagisa must go to class, join clubs, and make new friends. Meanwhile, Shizuma Hanazono, the sole Etoile of Astraea Hill, finds herself drawn to this new, exciting transfer student. As Shizuma and Nagisa get to know each other, Shizuma finally decides it is time to face her troubled past.

 

Sekaiichi Hatsukoi

After having to deal with jealousy from his co-workers for working under his father’s name, prideful literary editor Ritsu Onodera is determined to establish himself in the industry. To accomplish this, he quits his job at his father’s publishing company and transfers to Marukawa Publishing. But instead of being placed in their literary division, Ritsu finds himself working as the rookie manga editor for the Emerald editing department, a team that operates under extremely tight schedules in order to meet deadlines. There, Ritsu is introduced to the infamous editor-in-chief Masamune Takano, a persistent man who strives for results.

As it turns out, Takano is actually Ritsu’s high school love, and it is the aftermath of that heartbreak has caused Ritsu’s reluctance to fall in love again. Now with the two reunited after several years of separation, the reestablishment of their relationship is marked by Takano’s vow to make Ritsu say that he loves him again.

 

My Love Story

With his muscular build and tall stature, Takeo Gouda is not exactly your average high school freshman. However, behind his intimidating appearance hides a heart of gold, and he is considered a hero by the boys for his courage and chivalry. Unfortunately, these traits do not help much with his love life. As if his looks are not enough to scare the opposite sex away, Takeo’s cool and handsome best friend and constant companion Makoto Sunakawa easily steals the hearts of the female students—including every girl Takeo has ever liked.

When Takeo gallantly saves cute and angelic Rinko Yamato from being molested, he falls in love with her instantly, but suspects that she might be interested in Sunakawa. With his own love for Yamato continuing to bloom, Takeo unselfishly decides to act as her cupid, even as he yearns for his own love story.

 

[Summaries taken from MAL.]

About D

Just another avid anime fan.
This entry was posted in Anime, Poll and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Poll: Ore Monogatari!!, Sekaiichi Hatsukoi, Strawberry Panic

  1. My Love Story recently came out in the UK and received good reviews so I am voting for that show.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Remy Fool says:

    I don’t blame you. Reviewing one romance story every episode is already a test of fortitude.

    I voted for §tr@ŵbërrŷ P@ñîç!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rai says:

    Strawberry Panic! It starts off slow, but picks up speed halfway through. It is one of the first well known yuri series, so it is important :3 Although I usually only read/watch yuri romance, Ore Monogatari is really good and cute. But I think Strawberry Panic deserves some recognition, especially since it is an older show.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      I do keep seeing it around in a lot of yuri anime lists. Romance anime of any kind isn’t my thing but I thought I might give them a chance. Strawberry Panic is leading for now.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hoh, I liked My Story/Ore no Monogatari more than what I thought when I started it, and being the only one I know of the three, that’s my choice. Still, Strawberry Panic… yeah, it will go in my PtW list for… science.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Karandi says:

    My Love Story will probably win here but I’d love to see your reaction to Sekaiichi Hatsukoi.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      …would it be another Diabolik Lovers?

      I scoured MAL’s shounen-ai tag and the pickings were slim to say the least. Sekaiichi Hatsukoi seemed like the best of the 2-cour shows. But I’m sure it’s not going to win.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Karandi says:

        No where near as bad as Diabolik Lovers but still plenty of moments that make you question how the author actually defines love. There’s also just enough sweet moments to try to convince the audience that the relationships we’re watching aren’t all hopelessly unbalanced. Still, this one is at least better than Junjou Romantica in terms of content.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. kawaiipaperpandas says:

    Sekaiichi Hatsukoi for the win! Love that show oh so much! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Artemis says:

    I’ve seen all of these. I thought Strawberry Panic was a train wreck, I sort-of liked Sekaiichi Hatsukoi, and I genuinely enjoyed (most of) My Love Story. I think any of them would be pretty entertaining to read about from your perspective, but ultimately I had to vote for the series I actually liked and respected the most.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      At this rate, My Love Story is likely to win. I actually chose to blog these because I’m more likely to finish a romance show this way rather than quit 2 epiosdes in.

      Like

  8. raistlin0903 says:

    Don’t know any of these to be honest…but reading the synopsis for all of these I voted for my love story….but I think it’s a losing battle since a lot of people here seem to have voted for Strawberry Panic, although your last comment sounds encouraging, that My Love Story is going to win…so…pressing the vote button: Now 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      My Love Story is at the top by a large margin atm. And less people will vote the longer the poll stays up so it’s likely to win 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

