Another Episode 11 – Make-Up

Overview:

The first scene is of Izumi being told by her friend in glasses, Takako, that she knew a girl named Misaki in elementary school but that she’s not the Misaki they now know.

Back with Mei’s botched reveal of the extra’s name, Naoya is in a panic because he killed Kazami thinking he’s the dead one but since Mei and Kouichi both remember him, that can’t be. The reason Naoya did this was because Kazami’s lack of clear memories regarding their childhood made him suspicious. Kouichi comforts him by saying that he could still be alive after the fall.

As they go, Kouichi finds a classmate who’s been stabbed by an unknown assailant. He opens the door to the dining hall to find it on fire, with the manager guy dead from being impaled by numerous knives. There’s a scream from upstairs and they go to check. They also find that Kazami has survived and found out about the tape from Yuuya.

Yuuya and Naoya go find Mikami to tell her about all the shit that’s been happening but instead they find a blood trail and an old lady – the manager’s wife – with a cleaver that she’s clearly put to good use on people. She attacks them and they run.

Elsewhere, Mei, Izumi and Kouichi are confronted by Takako who seems to have snapped and is screaming ‘send the dead back to death’. She attacks Mei but goes away when Kouichi defends her. However, she follows it up by using the lodge’s speaker system to announce the tape’s contents to everyone and also add that Misaki Mei is the extra one due to her memories of Misaki from elementary school. She even says Mei’s doll eye is a sign that she came back incomplete. Izumi reveals that Takako has been unstable ever since the beach incident.

Naturally, the students turn on Mei and seem quite willing to use violence against her. Mikami tries to stop them and gets hurt in her place. Kouichi takes over and runs with Mei while the other students (whose sanity levels seem to fluctuate) pursue them. Some go overboard and die horribly in the process, like the girl whose brother was killed by an excavator.

One idiot opens the dining hall with the fire and dies in the ensuing explosion. Now we have building with a rapidly spreading fire, out of control students, a crazy lady with a cleaver and also a curse that’s made killing people its job.

Takako finds Mei and Kouichi, attacks and injures the latter while he tries to protect Mei, and then ends up strangled by loose wires. Izumi sees her body and thinks Mei is the killer so she sets about picking up where Takako left off.

Mei, on the other hand, stares with horror at Takato’s body and then slips away from both Izumi and Kouichi to kill the extra since that’s the only way this tragedy can end.

 

Thoughts:

While typing this review, autocorrect changed Misaki into Misery. It knows things.

That aside, what the actual fuck happened?

It’s like someone saw the story so far and thought ‘Hm, not enough blood and mutilation.’

This anime went from horror mystery to slasher gore in the span of seconds. I’m not complaining since I think this could end well provided the next episode gives a satisfying conclusion to the mystery angle as well, but holy shit, I’m still reeling from the abrupt bloodbath.

The calamity seems to have chucked logic out the window as Takako’s death shows. And I can’t even begin to guess what’s up with the murderous old lady. Was she the one who did that to her husband? Why?

Takako – and other students – snapping kinda makes senses if you consider stress from the beginning of class combined with the calamity’s influence as the reason. The end result ain’t pretty though.

As for who the extra one is, my best guess right now is Naoya. If Kazami can’t recall their childhood memories but isn’t the extra, then it could be Naoya. We’ll see. (I watched episode 12 after typing this so I know my guess isn’t right but it was what I thought when I watched episode 11).

No mention of the Kouichi and 1.5 years ago deal in this episode but we getter get an answer to that in the finale because it’s the one thing I really want to know after the identity of the horrorterror thing.

About D

Just another avid anime fan.
This entry was posted in Anime, Another and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Another Episode 11 – Make-Up

  1. raistlin0903 says:

    Haha…yes…the carnage really began in this episode. I had pretty much the same reaction as you: Holy hell, what the heck is happening here. I also loved the music in this episode. It was so tense and added even more to the already terrific atmosphere of the series. I also enjoyed the fact this being the episode where there are even less people left, you start making conclusions,and you still end up being wrong in the end. Lol.
    But this episode was seriously cool….I can’t wait to see your final thoughts on the show, but am very glad for all these great posts the past few weeks. They have been a blast to read 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      Right? Who could have seen that coming. (My qyestion from an earlier episode stands – how the hell has the school not been shut down after such a body count but it’s ok, I can suspend disbelief since everything else is awesome.)

      Agreed about the music. I was too caught up in the bloodbath to pay attention always but when I did, it was remarkable.

      And thank youuu 😀 It was fun blogging this and Gakkougurashi both, and discussing it with all of you. I had great picks for the poll this time around.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Artemis says:

    Up until this point I had really been digging Another, but like so many other horror anime out there, the ending is where the whole thing just collapses for me. It’s not that I don’t appreciate a decent amount of gore at times (I love me some Tarantino, and Battle Royale is still one of my favourite Japanese live-action films of all time), but the jarring shift here – from slow-burning, intelligent, finely-crafted atmosphere to full-on rush-job splatterfest – just doesn’t sit well with me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      I admit that the sudden change jarred me as well but I don’t really mind it either. I think that a lot of this gore for the sake of gore aspect was balanced out by the identity reveal next chapter. If they’d given us this bloodbath and then also botched the extra’s identity, then I’d have been very let down but as it is, I love how everything came together.

      Like

      • Artemis says:

        I have to admit, I really didn’t like the identity reveal either. Not because I had a problem with the actual identity, but because the whole thing felt so slapdash and not well plotted out. To me, it almost felt like the creators, having gotten this far, were stuck for story and just made it up on the spot rather than actually planning for it up until that point. (Obviously I know that’s not the case, but had the anime not been based on already existing source material, I probably would have assumed it.)

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Remy Fool says:

    Well, things sure did esculate quickly. I think the series was worse off for it. Oh, well.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Auto-correct made a good observation for once. In my experiences it just changes text into something foolish.

    Liked by 1 person

    • D says:

      I had to check the post to see what you were talking about and caught a typo. Thanks for that!

      And my autocorrect mishaps are either innocous or hilarious. My skype friends get the most laughs out of it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

